Google Gives Advertisers More Tracking Options

    October 2, 2009
    Chris Crum

Google has announced a new feature for the Google Content Network called View-Through Conversion Reporting. The feature is designed to help advertisers better measure the value of their display ad campaigns.

"Display ads are influential in increasing brand awareness and driving purchase consideration, and with View-through conversion reporting, you can better measure the impact of your display ad campaign for those instances where your ad is seen, but not immediately clicked on," explains Amanda Kelly of Google’s Inside AdWords crew. "More specifically, View-through conversion reporting measures the number of conversions that occurred within 30 days of your display ad appearing for which there was no ad click generated."

"By using View-through conversion reporting, you can more easily compare the performance of your Google Content Network campaign with the performance of your other display advertising campaigns," adds Kelly. "This feature can also help you determine the best ways and places to advertise, how best to optimize your display ad campaigns, and, ultimately, how to spend your advertising dollars more effectively."

Google Display Ads

Conversions are reported on the campaigns tab in AdWords. The reporting is the same as other conversion views for placement-targeted campaigns. View-through conversions are reported against each targeted placement. Enhanced online campaigns are also reported the same. View-through conversions are reported against each targeted criteria except for keywords. With regards to interest-based ads, view-through conversions are reported against each interest-based targeting criteria.

View-through conversions are recorded for the date of the impression they are associated with. Clicks on search ads don’t interfere with view-through conversion tracking reports. Conversions are counted when there’s a display impression on content. Google counts all conversions not associated with a click and attributes them to the last impression within the last 30 days. More info is available in the help center.