Phishers Using Google Calendar Invites

Don't Fall For it

Get the WebProNews Newsletter:

[ Business]

Phishing attempts have been spotted that appear as Google Calendar event invitations. Be wary of any invitations that ask for your password. This should be obvious by now, but these phishers still manage to trick people.

As with most phishing emails, it appears to be somewaht legitimate. They come from email addresses that say customerserviceXXXX@gmail.com (with the XXXX being replaced by a four-digit number), but as John Leyden at The Register notes, the real Google inserts the real name of the recipient in email invitations.

Graham Cluley at Sophos provides the following screenshot of the malicious invitation email:

 Part of the invitation says:

THIS Email is from Gmail Customer Care and we are sending it to every Gmail Email User Accounts Owner for safety. we are having congestions due to the anonymous registration of Gmail accounts so we are shutting down some Gmail accounts and your account was among those to be deleted. We are sending you this email so that you can verify and let us know if you still want to use this account.

Your Google username and password are then requested. "Remember, you really are on Google’s Calendar website," notes Cluley. "You haven’t been taken to a fake site posing as Google, but alarm bells should definitely be ringing in your head at this point."

This is not the first time threats have circulated involving Google Calendar. Back in June Google Blogoscoped reported on a similar incident.

Just remember, Google should never ask for your password. If they (or others for that matter) do, you’re most likely dealing with phishing.

Phishers Using Google Calendar Invites
Top Rated White Papers and Resources
  • http://randomplaza.com Richard Mongler

    Phishing used to not be so bad in 1995 when people just phished for AOL accounts and AOL users were stupid then and it wasn’t that bad. Nowadays phishing is all about identity theft and the internet has really become serious business.

  • LennyVNOLA

    I know with spoofing and other phishing attempts with eBay and PayPal, there is an email address like spoof@eBay.com to forward these things. Anything like that for Google… or just ignore them like all the other spoofing/phishing attempts for bank info.

  • Join for Access to Our Exclusive Web Tools
  • Sidebar Top
  • Sidebar Middle
  • Sign Up For The Free Newsletter
  • Sidebar Bottom