Facebook Guilts Users Who Try To Delete Accounts

    July 24, 2009

Facebook currently has 250 million users, 100 million of which have joined since January. The social networking site continues to grow, with no end in sight. Makes you wonder, what is Facebook’s secret for user retention?

It seems, for some users, the secret is GUILT.

Let’s say you want to delete your Facebook account, you’ve had it with all the quizzes. You click on "Account Settings" then "Deactivate Account". Your Facebook is deleted now, right? Nope, you’re met with a huge guilt trip, an example of which can be seen below:

Facebook's Guilt Trip

Facebook forces you to think about your cold-hearted decision by using your friends against you. Well played Facebook, well played.

This user retention tactic is quite brilliant, but some might find it a bit much. It could make some individuals remember why they joined Facebook to begin with. Would this sway your decision making if you were deleting your account? Tell us.