AOL Names Post-Time Warner Board of Directors

    October 26, 2009
    Chris Crum

AOL has named eight members to serve on its Board of Directors, once the company’s separation from Time Warner is Complete. The members have experience in Internet media, entertainment, marketing, and finance.

1. Former Amazon Senior Vice President and CIO Richard Dalzell holds a B.S. in engineering from the U.S. Military Academy, West Point. He has also worked as Vice President of the Information Systems Division at Wal-Mart.

2. Karen Dykstra is a partner at Plainfield Asset Management LLC, and has been COO and CFO of Plainfield Direct Inc. since 2006. She received a B.S. in accounting from Rider University and a M.B.A. from Fairleigh Dickinson University.
Bill Hambrecht
3. Bill Hambrecht founded and has been Chairman and CEO of WR Hambrecht + Co since 1998. He also co-founded the United Football League, which premiered earlier this month. He is a Princeton graduate.

4. Patricia Mitchell has served as President and CEO of The Paley Center for Media, a global non-profit cultural institution. Before that she was President and CEO of the Public Broadcasting Service. She has served as President of Time Inc. Television and CNN Productions, and was a partner in an independent production company, which focused on women’s programming. Mitchell serves on the board of Sun Microsystems and she holds a B.A. in English/drama and a M.A. in English literature from the University of Georgia.

5. Michael Powell has served as a Senior Advisor to Providence Equity Partners since 2005. Powell is also Chairman of the MK Powell Group and has served as the Chief of Staff of the Department of Justice’s Antitrust Division. Powell has a B.A. in government from the College of William and Mary and a J.D. from the Georgetown University Law Center.

Fredric Reynolds6. Fredric Reynolds was with CBS Corporation and its predecessor companies from 1994 until he retired earlier this year. He was Executive Vice President and CFO of CBS Corporation from 2005 to 2009 and President and CEO of the Viacom Television Stations Group. He was also President of the CBS Television Stations Division.

7. James Stengel has been President and CEO of The Jim Stengel Company since 2008. He is also a marketing professor at UCLA’s Anderson School of Management. He has been Global Marketing Officer  at Procter & Gamble and he serves on the board of Motorola. He holds a B.A. from Franklin & Marshall College and a M.B.A. from Pennsylvania State University’s Smeal School of Business.

8. Jim Wiatt served as Chairman and CEO of the William Morris Agency. He is a graduate of the University of Southern California, and is a member of the Board of Councilors of the USC School of Cinematic Arts, former Chairman and current member of the Board of the Los Angeles Police Foundation, and on the Board of Directors of the Music Center of Los Angeles.

"AOL is very fortunate to have an exceptional group of proven leaders to serve on our board of directors. AOL is on a mission to help create the future of media and content and the AOL Board will play a central part in helping us focus the strategy and also operate the company with the highest ethical standards," said AOL CEO and Chairman of the Board Tim Armstrong. "These individuals bring independent judgment and a dedication to building shareholder value, and they will be a tremendous resource for our company, our employees, and our future."

Time Warner plans to have the separation of AOL completed by the end of the year.