Quantcast

All Posts Tagged Tag: ‘Books’

Franz Kafka Honored with ‘Metamorphic’ Google Doodle

Google is celebrating the birth of Prague-born writer Franz Kafka, who is regarded by some of one of the most important writers of the 20th century. Kafka, who published dozens of short stories and a handful of novel, is one of the main influencers of what we know as existentialism. Google’s Doodle honors one of Kafka’s most influential works – …

Read More

1984, As Explained by Thug Notes’ Sparky Sweets, PhD

Sparky Sweets, PhD, is back you guys. As promised, the latest round of Thug Notes (Classic literature, original gangster) tackles George Orwell’s seminal classic 1984. “Yo, you know what else is wack? As the party recreates reality, eventually all your individual qualities get kicked straight to the curb. How’s a brother gonna know he exists if all he be is …

Read More

Meet Thug Notes, the Best Classic Literature Discussion on YouTube

“Jem’s crippled ass is a metaphor for America’s jacked-up justice system. Jem f*ckin’ up his arm so young is one of them synecdoches for a country that was born with backward-ass ideas. Now, that sh*t might heal, but it gonna leave a disablin’ scar on the nation, and ain’t no amount of cocoa butter gonna make that sh*t go away.” …

Read More

1984 Book Sales Spike Due To NSA Scandal

Nearly everyone knows what the phrase “Big Brother” means in a political discussion – a government that keeps a close eye on its people’s comings and goings, a surveillance state. Surprisingly few people these days know that the phrase comes from George Orwell’s dystopian science fiction novel, 1984. That, it seems, is rapidly changing. In the wake of recent revelations …

Read More

Maurice Sendak Honored with Animated Google Doodle

Today, Google lets the wild rumpus start with an animated Doodle honoring famous American writer and illustrator Maurice Sendak. Sendak was best known for his classic 1963 children’s book Where the Wild Things Are, which has sold millions upon million of copies worldwide and has been adapted into animated shorts and a feature film. Many kids have grown up on …

Read More

‘Paradise Guest House’ Author Ellen Sussman Speaks At Google

Bestselling Author Ellen Sussman recently participated in an “At Google” talk, which Google has now made available for everyone. She speaks about her book, The Paradise Guest House, which Google recommends for fans of Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach. The talk was recorded on May 28th. More recent At Google talks here.

Read More

‘Farmer’s Market Cookbook’ Author Amelia Saltsman Speaks At Google

Amelia Saltsman, author of The Santa Monica Farmer’s Market Cookbook, recently gave an At Google talk, which Google has now made publicly available. The talk, which took place on May 16, features Saltsman demonstrating some of her recipes. More recent At Google talks here.

Read More

Political Economist Mark Blyth Talks At Google

Political economist Mark Blyth recently gave an “At Google” talk, which Google has now made publicly available via YouTube. Blyth is the author of Great Transformations: Economic Ideas and Institutional Change in the Twentieth Century; editor of The Routledge Handbook of International Political Economy: IPE as a Global Conversation, and co-editor of Constructing the International Economy. Blyth is currently working …

Read More

5-Year-Old Read 875 Books in One Year

A Louisiana kindergartner is turning heads after she allegedly read 875 books during just one school year. According to a report from NBC’s KPLC affiliate, a five-year-old Lake Charles girl named Sophia Moss read “most” of the kindergarten and first grade-level books at her school library this year. The girl attends T.S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School in Lake Charles. Sure, …

Read More

Jack Vance Dies: Sci-Fi & Fantasy Writer Was 96

John Holbrook Vance, better known to the literary world as Jack Vance, has died. He was 96. Vance, a prolific author who penned more than 60 books in his more than 60-year career, wrote across multiple genres including mystery, sci-fi, and fantasy. Most of his work was penned under the name Jack Vance, but he also had multiple pseudonyms inducing …

Read More

‘Gamification Revolution’ Author Gabe Zichermann Talks At Google

Author Gabe Zichermann recently stopped by the Googleplex to discuss his latest book, “Gamification Revolution.” Google has made the talk available on YouTube: “Gamification: It’s the hottest new strategy in business, and for good reason–it’s helping leading companies create unprecedented engagement with customers and employees,” Google says in the video description. “Gamification uses the latest innovations from game design, loyalty …

Read More

Bernard Waber Dies: Children’s Author Was 91

Bernard Waber, beloved children’s author and illustrator, has died at the age of 91 after a long illness. Waber is probably best known for his books The House on East 88th Street and Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile (including his many subsequent Lyle books). Waber describes how he got into drawing in a biographical essay: (image) My own early efforts at drawing …

Read More

Page 8 of 15« First...«678910»...Last »