Google Maps Gives Users New Way To Access Previously Used Directions

    February 14, 2012
    Chris Crum

Google has a new way to access directions you’ve recently looked up on Google Maps. Under the My Places tab, on the left panel, you will see see them appear. You’ll also have the ability to filter results to access only the previous directions from the “more” tab.

My Places Directions

“This historical archive of directions results makes it quicker and easier to continue planning later,” says Google Maps software engineer Tatsuo Nomura. “For example, if you have a few minutes to spare during the day and use your work computer to search for directions from your house to the restaurant where you’re meeting friends for dinner, you can easily access those same directions from your home computer via My Places once you’re ready to head out. We’ll even remember when you’ve customized your directions by dragging the blue line to your preferred path, and show that you route again.”

The directions and places will only appear for signed-in users who enable Web History. You can always remove any of the locations or directions from the drop-down arrow next to each item.


Chris Crum
Chris Crum has been a part of the WebProNews team and the iEntry Network of B2B Publications since 2003. Follow Chris on Twitter, on StumbleUpon, on Pinterest and/or on Google: +Chris Crum.