New iPad Launching In 30 Countries On May 11-12


Share this Post

Apple's "resolutionary" new iPad is preparing to make its way into an additional 30 countries at the end of this week, according to a recent report. The new markets should round out the iPad's availability in Latin America and Asia, as well as adding several Middle Eastern countries.

The first round of new releases will come on Friday, May 11, when the new iPad hits 23 countries. Most of these are in Latin American and the Caribbean, with a few in Africa and Asia. Here's the full list: Argentina, Aruba, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, Costa Rica, Curaçao, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Jamaica, Kenya, Madagascar, Malta, Martinique, Mauritius, Morocco, Peru, Taiwan, Tunisia, Vietnam. On Saturday, May 12, the new iPad will be hitting 7 Middle Eastern countries: Bahrain, Egypt, Jordan, Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates.

Interestingly, Apple has been fairly quiet about this latest round of releases. They did not issue any sort of statement explaining the new releases. Instead, the releases were discovered by MacRumors.

The iPad launched on March 16th in the U.S. and nine other countries, the largest single-day launch in Apple's history. A week later it hit 25 additional countries, mostly in Europe. A month after the US launch, the new iPad arrived in an additional 12 countries. After that, Apple appears to have stopped announcing the iPad's arrival in new countries. Since then it has launched in several more nations including, as MacRumors points out, Turkey last weekend.

With the launches on Friday and Saturday, the new iPad will be available in nearly 100 countries on every continent except Antarctica.