Request Media Kit

Facebook’s New ‘Trusted Contacts’ Lets Your Buddies Help with Account Recovery

Facebook wants you to tap your buddies to help you regain access to your account, should you find yourself locked out. Today, they’re unveiling the all new “Trusted Contacts,” which ...
Facebook’s New ‘Trusted Contacts’ Lets Your Buddies Help with Account Recovery
Written by Josh Wolford
  • Facebook wants you to tap your buddies to help you regain access to your account, should you find yourself locked out.

    Today, they’re unveiling the all new “Trusted Contacts,” which is a revamp of their “Trusted Friends” feature that they first tested way back in 2011. This time around, the feature has increased security and is easier to manage and use.

    It’s pretty simple, really. Once you access your security settings and enable trusted contacts, you just select 3 to 5 friends that you trust to help you access your account. If you’re locked out, simply call your friends and let them know. They’ll be able to obtain a code, different codes for each trusted contact. All you have to do is enter three separate security codes to regain access to your account.

    Before, users could only manage their trusted friends when they were having trouble accessing their accounts. Now, users can manage their trusted contacts at any time via their security settings.

    “With trusted contacts, there’s no need to worry about remembering the answer to your security question or filling out long web forms to prove who you are. You can recover your account with help from your friends,” says Facebook.

    You should be able to manage your “trusted contacts” in your security settings starting today.

    Get the WebProNews newsletter
    delivered to your inbox

    Get the free daily newsletter read by decision makers

    Subscribe
    Advertise with Us

    Ready to get started?

    Get our media kit