Quantcast

Books Articles

Franz Kafka Honored with ‘Metamorphic’ Google Doodle Franz Kafka Honored with ‘Metamorphic’ Google Doodle

Google is celebrating the birth of Prague-born writer Franz Kafka, who is regarded by some of one of the most important writers of the 20th century. Kafka, who published dozens of short stories and a handful of novel, is one …

1984, As Explained by Thug Notes’ Sparky Sweets, PhD

Sparky Sweets, PhD, is back you guys. As promised, the latest round of Thug Notes (Classic literature, original gangster) tackles George Orwell’s seminal classic 1984. “Yo, you know what else is wack? As the party recreates reality, eventually all your …

Meet Thug Notes, the Best Classic Literature Discussion on YouTube
· 1

“Jem’s crippled ass is a metaphor for America’s jacked-up justice system. Jem f*ckin’ up his arm so young is one of them synecdoches for a country that was born with backward-ass ideas. Now, that sh*t might heal, but it gonna …

1984 Book Sales Spike Due To NSA Scandal
· 1

Nearly everyone knows what the phrase “Big Brother” means in a political discussion – a government that keeps a close eye on its people’s comings and goings, a surveillance state. Surprisingly few people these days know that the phrase comes …

Maurice Sendak Honored with Animated Google Doodle Maurice Sendak Honored with Animated Google Doodle

Today, Google lets the wild rumpus start with an animated Doodle honoring famous American writer and illustrator Maurice Sendak. Sendak was best known for his classic 1963 children’s book Where the Wild Things Are, which has sold millions upon million …

‘Paradise Guest House’ Author Ellen Sussman Speaks At Google

Bestselling Author Ellen Sussman recently participated in an “At Google” talk, which Google has now made available for everyone. She speaks about her book, The Paradise Guest House, which Google recommends for fans of Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s …

‘Farmer’s Market Cookbook’ Author Amelia Saltsman Speaks At Google ‘Farmer’s Market Cookbook’ Author Amelia Saltsman Speaks At Google

Amelia Saltsman, author of The Santa Monica Farmer’s Market Cookbook, recently gave an At Google talk, which Google has now made publicly available. The talk, which took place on May 16, features Saltsman demonstrating some of her recipes. More recent …

Political Economist Mark Blyth Talks At Google Political Economist Mark Blyth Talks At Google

Political economist Mark Blyth recently gave an “At Google” talk, which Google has now made publicly available via YouTube. Blyth is the author of Great Transformations: Economic Ideas and Institutional Change in the Twentieth Century; editor of The Routledge Handbook …

5-Year-Old Read 875 Books in One Year

A Louisiana kindergartner is turning heads after she allegedly read 875 books during just one school year. According to a report from NBC’s KPLC affiliate, a five-year-old Lake Charles girl named Sophia Moss read “most” of the kindergarten and first …

Jack Vance Dies: Sci-Fi & Fantasy Writer Was 96

John Holbrook Vance, better known to the literary world as Jack Vance, has died. He was 96. Vance, a prolific author who penned more than 60 books in his more than 60-year career, wrote across multiple genres including mystery, sci-fi, …

‘Gamification Revolution’ Author Gabe Zichermann Talks At Google ‘Gamification Revolution’ Author Gabe Zichermann Talks At Google

Author Gabe Zichermann recently stopped by the Googleplex to discuss his latest book, “Gamification Revolution.” Google has made the talk available on YouTube: “Gamification: It’s the hottest new strategy in business, and for good reason–it’s helping leading companies create unprecedented …

Bernard Waber Dies: Children’s Author Was 91

Bernard Waber, beloved children’s author and illustrator, has died at the age of 91 after a long illness. Waber is probably best known for his books The House on East 88th Street and Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile (including his many subsequent …

Atheist Books Next To Bibles? Could Happen In Georgia’s State Parks
· 24

Georgia’s state parks are now allowing Bibles to be placed in rental cabins. An atheist group arguing for equal representation is now presenting a plan that would allow them to place books with atheist philosophies in those same cabins next …

‘Farmacology’ Author Daphne Miller Talks At Google

Daphne Miller, author of the book, “Farmacology: What Innovative Family Farming Can Teach Us About Health and Healing” recently gave an Authors At Google talk discussing her work. “Increasingly disillusioned by mainstream medicine’s mechanistic approach to healing and fascinated by …

‘Give And Take’ Author Adam Grant Speaks At Googleplex ‘Give And Take’ Author Adam Grant Speaks At Googleplex
· 1

Adam Grant, author of the book Give and Take , recently gave an “Authors At Google” talk at the Googleplex, discussing his work. The publicist for the book describes “Give and Take” as changing our “fundamental ideas about how to …

When Ads For Classic Literature Make Reddit’s ‘WTF’ Section When Ads For Classic Literature Make Reddit’s ‘WTF’ Section

An old ad for Filigranes Bookstore, advertising Franz Kafka’s literary classic, The Metamorphosis, has drawn some buzz from the reddit community, appearing in the “WTF” subreddit, and ultimately drawing thousands of upvotes. Now that’s a viral ad. The ad is …

‘Science Of Good Cooking’ Author Chris Kimball Speaks At Google

Chris Kimball, author of the book, “The Science of Good Cooking,” recently gave an “Authors at Google” talk at the company’s headquarters. Google has now made it available for all to watch. More recent At Google talks here.

George Jung (Of ‘Blow’ Fame) Is Writing John McAfee’s Biography George Jung (Of ‘Blow’ Fame) Is Writing John McAfee’s Biography

George Jung, the famed drug smugger, whose life story took the big screen form of Blow (starring Johnny Depp as Jung) has been tapped to write the biography of McAfee antivirus founder John McAfee. Impact Future Media, which secured TV …

Tom Sizemore: Drugs, Sex, and Fame Chronicled In Book
· 7

Tom Sizemore has 136 film and television roles under his belt, and for a guy who grew up on the mean streets of Detroit, the fame that came with starring in revered movies such as “Saving Private Ryan” and cult …

Amazon: These Are The Most Well-Read American Cities

Amazon put out its annual list of the top twenty most well-read cities in America today. While number one is the same as it was last year, there are some differences. Cambridge, for example, fell from number 2 to number …

‘Tipping Sacred Cows’ Author Jake Breeden Talks At Google

Jake Breeden, author of “Tipping Sacred Cows: Kick the Bad Work Habits that Masquerade as Virtues,” recently participated in an “At Google” talk, which Google has now made available for viewing on YouTube. More recent At Google talks here.