Quantcast

Books Articles

‘The Billionaire And The Mechanic’ Author Julian Guthrie And Oracle Engineer Joseph Ozanne Talk At Google ‘The Billionaire And The Mechanic’ Author Julian Guthrie And Oracle Engineer Joseph Ozanne Talk At Google
· 1

Journalist Julian Guthrie and Oracle engineer Joseph Ozanne recently participated in an At Google Talk discussing Guthrie’s book The Billionaire and the Mechanic: How Larry Ellison and a Car Mechanic Teamed Up to Win Sailing’s Greatest Race, The America’s Cup. …

Google Hosts Another Neuroscience Talk, This Time With ‘High Price’ Author Carl Hart

Dr. Carl Hart, neuroscientist and author of High Price: A Neuroscientist’s Journey of Self-Discovery That Challenges Everything You Know About Drugs And Society, recently gave an “At Google” talk, which the company has now made available online. The book is …

Ian Whitcomb Talks Ukulele At Google Ian Whitcomb Talks Ukulele At Google

Musician and author Ian Whitcomb recently gave an At Google Talk in Los Angeles to discuss his recent book Ukulele Heroes: The Golden Age and a handful of ukulele songs. Google has now made it available on line for all …

‘Life…Don’t Miss It.’ Author Gary Kunath Talks At Google ‘Life…Don’t Miss It.’ Author Gary Kunath Talks At Google

Gary Kunath, author of the book Life…Don’t Miss it: How I Learned To Live Life To The Fullest, recently participated in an “At Google” talk, which the company has now made available online. The talk is called, “Mastering Life’s Balance”. …

The Guy From RATT Gave A Google Talk The Guy From RATT Gave A Google Talk

Google recently hosted Stephen Pearcy (often known as “the guy from RATT”) for an “At Google” talk, which the company has now made available online. Google often has authors (and musicians) at its campuses for these kinds of talks, and …

Juror B37: Book Deal Killed with an Online Petition and Some Help from Twitter
· 1

On Monday morning, news broke that one of the jurors responsible for George Zimmerman’s acquittal was gearing up to write a book and that she already had the backing of a literary agent. Less than 24 hours later, the book …

Robert Burton Talks ‘A Skeptic’s Guide to the Mind’ At Google

Neuroscientist Robert Burton recently participated in an “At Google” talk, in which he discussed his latest book, ‘A Skeptic’s Guide to the Mind.” Google has now made it available for all to watch. The book’s description: In A Skeptic’s Guide …

J.K. Rowling Revealed As Mystery Author

It seems that J.K. Rowling pulled a bit of literary… sleight of hand (you thought I was going to say “magic,” didn’t you?) and wrote a novel when nobody was looking. Rowling was revealed yesterday to be the author of …

‘WomanCode’ Author Alisa Vitti Gives A Google Talk
· 1

Alisa Vitti, author of WomanCode: Perfect Your Cycle, Amplify Your Fertility, Supercharge Your Sex Drive, and Become a Power Source, recently participated in an “At Google” talk. The company has now made the discussion available for your viewing pleasure. “Her …

Franz Kafka Google Doodle Hits The U.S. Franz Kafka Google Doodle Hits The U.S.

As previously reported, Google is celebrating the birthday of acclaimed writer Franz Kafka. The doodle went live yesterday on the other side of the world, when it became July 3rd, and now it’s up here in our neck of the …

‘Frankenstein’s Cat’ Author Emily Anthes Speaks At Google

Emily Anthes, author of the book Frankenstein’s Cat: Cuddling Up to Biotech’s Brave New Beasts, recently participated in an “At Google” talk, discussing the book and animal biotechnology in general. Google has now made the talk available for all to …

Franz Kafka Honored with ‘Metamorphic’ Google Doodle Franz Kafka Honored with ‘Metamorphic’ Google Doodle

Google is celebrating the birth of Prague-born writer Franz Kafka, who is regarded by some of one of the most important writers of the 20th century. Kafka, who published dozens of short stories and a handful of novel, is one …

1984, As Explained by Thug Notes’ Sparky Sweets, PhD

Sparky Sweets, PhD, is back you guys. As promised, the latest round of Thug Notes (Classic literature, original gangster) tackles George Orwell’s seminal classic 1984. “Yo, you know what else is wack? As the party recreates reality, eventually all your …

Meet Thug Notes, the Best Classic Literature Discussion on YouTube
· 1

“Jem’s crippled ass is a metaphor for America’s jacked-up justice system. Jem f*ckin’ up his arm so young is one of them synecdoches for a country that was born with backward-ass ideas. Now, that sh*t might heal, but it gonna …

1984 Book Sales Spike Due To NSA Scandal
· 1

Nearly everyone knows what the phrase “Big Brother” means in a political discussion – a government that keeps a close eye on its people’s comings and goings, a surveillance state. Surprisingly few people these days know that the phrase comes …

Maurice Sendak Honored with Animated Google Doodle Maurice Sendak Honored with Animated Google Doodle

Today, Google lets the wild rumpus start with an animated Doodle honoring famous American writer and illustrator Maurice Sendak. Sendak was best known for his classic 1963 children’s book Where the Wild Things Are, which has sold millions upon million …

‘Paradise Guest House’ Author Ellen Sussman Speaks At Google

Bestselling Author Ellen Sussman recently participated in an “At Google” talk, which Google has now made available for everyone. She speaks about her book, The Paradise Guest House, which Google recommends for fans of Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s …

‘Farmer’s Market Cookbook’ Author Amelia Saltsman Speaks At Google ‘Farmer’s Market Cookbook’ Author Amelia Saltsman Speaks At Google

Amelia Saltsman, author of The Santa Monica Farmer’s Market Cookbook, recently gave an At Google talk, which Google has now made publicly available. The talk, which took place on May 16, features Saltsman demonstrating some of her recipes. More recent …

Political Economist Mark Blyth Talks At Google Political Economist Mark Blyth Talks At Google

Political economist Mark Blyth recently gave an “At Google” talk, which Google has now made publicly available via YouTube. Blyth is the author of Great Transformations: Economic Ideas and Institutional Change in the Twentieth Century; editor of The Routledge Handbook …

5-Year-Old Read 875 Books in One Year

A Louisiana kindergartner is turning heads after she allegedly read 875 books during just one school year. According to a report from NBC’s KPLC affiliate, a five-year-old Lake Charles girl named Sophia Moss read “most” of the kindergarten and first …

Jack Vance Dies: Sci-Fi & Fantasy Writer Was 96

John Holbrook Vance, better known to the literary world as Jack Vance, has died. He was 96. Vance, a prolific author who penned more than 60 books in his more than 60-year career, wrote across multiple genres including mystery, sci-fi, …