Google has added increased Google+ integration into Gmail. When you go to compose a new message, and start typing, it will now bring up Google+ connections as suggestions in addition to your regular contacts. In other words, Google+ connections become contacts regardless of whether you’ve ever exchanged emails.
This is an extension of previous Google+-related additions to Gmail. About two years ago they added various Google+ elements, like showing information and photos when you exchange emails with people, the ability to share photos, and a connection between contact info and Google+ profiles.
With the new feature, Google says email addresses will only be shared with the people you want them to be.
“Your email address isn’t visible to a Google+ connection unless you send that person an email, and likewise, that person’s email address isn’t visible to you unless they send you an email,” says product manager David Nachum.
Google has introduced a new setting in Gmail that lets you choose who can email you via your Google+ profile. Options include: Anyone on Google+, extended circles, circles and no one.
When someone in your own circles emails you, the message will appear in the Primary category in Gmail’s recently launched tabbed interface. If they’re not in your circles, the messages will appear in the Social tab (if you have the tabs enabled).
The feature is rolling out over the next couple days to all Gmail and Google+ users. Google is sending an email to users to let them know about the setting when it’s available.
It will be interesting to see how users respond to this increased integration. It didn’t sit to well with YouTube users.
Image via Google