Netflix To Launch In Six New Countries

Chris CrumBusiness

Share this Post

Netflix announced on Wednesday that it is readying launches in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, France, Belgium, and Luxembourg. We've heard about Netflix's efforts to secure the further expansion of its European operations, and now it's coming to fruition.

Netflix is already available in the UK and Ireland, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden, and the Netherlands.

The company did not give actual launch dates for any of the new countries, but is letting people sign up for email alerts to let them know when service becomes available. People can simply go to, and sign up.

"Upon launch, broadband users in these countries can subscribe to Netflix and instantly watch a curated selection of Hollywood, local and global TV series and movies, including critically-acclaimed Netflix original series, whenever and wherever they like on TVs, tablets, phones, game consoles and computers," the company said.

Details on pricing, programming, and supported devices will be available at a later date. It remains to be seen if the service will be different than in other regions like the U.S.

Ahead of the launch in these new countries, Netflix is already claiming 48 million members in over 40 countries. Many of these are in North and Latin America.

It will be interesting to see if they get the service in the new set of countries ahead of Orange is the New Black's second season debut on June 6th. Orange CEO Stephane Richard commented a while back that he expected Netflix to launch in France in the fall, but that was well before any announcements were made.

Image via YouTube

Chris Crum
Chris Crum has been a part of the WebProNews team and the iEntry Network of B2B Publications since 2003. Follow Chris on Twitter, on StumbleUpon, on Pinterest and/or on Google: +Chris Crum.