LinkedIn announced that it’s providing users with a lot more information about who has been viewing their profiles.
Apparently in preparation for the launch, the company announced last week that users can now block other members from viewing their profiles, which had been a highly requested feature.
With new analytics features, the company says it can tell you, for example, that your profile would be eleven times more likely to be viewed if you add a photo or share a specific article.
“As one of the most popular destinations on LinkedIn, Who’s Viewed Your Profile has always given members a way to discover new opportunities and be discovered by others – but we knew the full potential hadn’t been unlocked,” says LinkedIn’s Udi Milo. “Today we’re giving you the key with access to more data driven insights such as the industry your viewers work in, the keyword searches that led to your profile, how they found you and new insights including what regions they live in, what profession they are in and what company they work for. This will help you quickly identify trends and enable you to align your professional brand with your professional goals.”
“The most exciting new feature we’ve added are the real-time personalized tips on actions you can take to make yourself more discoverable to other like-minded professionals, potential employers or business partners on LinkedIn,” Milo says. “The personalized tips on Who’s Viewed Your Profile provide suggestions on everything from actions you can take to complete your profile to industry relevant articles that you can share to professional groups you can join – as well as how those actions can potentially increase views of your profile. Ultimately, this takes the guesswork out of how you can continue to build your own professional brand and manage your professional identity to make yourself even more productive on and off of LinkedIn.”
LinkedIn is rolling out the new features around the world in English beginning today. Other languages will come in time.
The company is also in the process of rolling out functionality to let all members make use of its long-form content publishing platform, which has historically only been available to “influencers”. It might take a few months for you to get access to that.
Images via LinkedIn