Google Translate Gets Support For 10 More Languages

Chris CrumIT Management

Share this Post

Google announced the addition of ten new languages to Google Translate. A year ago, the company announced that it had reached the 80-language milestone. Now, it's up to 90.

The new languages are: Chichewa (Chinyanja), Malagasy, Sesotho, Malayalam (മലയാളം), Myanmar (Burmese, မြန်မာစာ), Sinhala (සිංහල), Sundanese (Basa Sunda), Kazakh (Қазақ тілі), Tajik (Тоҷикӣ), and Uzbek (Oʻzbek tili).

"These 10 new languages will allow more than 200 million additional people to translate text to and from their native languages," says the Google Translate engineering team.

Back in the summer, Google launched its Translate Community aimed at helping the company improve its translation quality for the languages it already supported, as well as contribute to additional languages. Clearly that initiative has paid off.

"If it weren't for the active Translate Community participation, we wouldn't be able to launch some of these languages today," Google says. "While our translation system learns from translated data found on the web, sometimes we need support from humans to improve our algorithms. We're very grateful for all the support we're getting today and we hope that together with our community, we can continue improving translation quality for the languages we support today and add even more languages in the future.

The new languages are now available on, and will hit the mobile apps and built-in translation functionality in Chrome soon.

Image via Google

Chris Crum
Chris Crum has been a part of the WebProNews team and the iEntry Network of B2B Publications since 2003. Follow Chris on Twitter, on StumbleUpon, on Pinterest and/or on Google: +Chris Crum.