YouTube Safety Mode Goes Beyond Human Review

    February 11, 2010
    Chris Crum

This week, YouTube launched Safety Mode, an opt-in setting that helps users screen out potentially objectionable videos. We asked YouTube how it works. For example, is there human intervention involved?

"Safety Mode goes above and beyond the flagging system and manual review to use community signals to filter out content that may be objectionable," YouTube tells WebProNews. "YouTube’s filters use proprietary technology and algorithms to identify and filter potentially objectionable content."

That’s about as in-depth as they were willing to get on that, but YouTube has acknowledged that it’s not 100% perfect, calling it just another step in their ongoing desire to give users more control over what they see on the site.

Don’t expect YouTube to start accepting more "objectionable" content now that it has Safety Mode available. All content still has to comply with YouTube’s community guidelines.

To use Safety Mode, simply click on the link at the bottom of any video page. The setting can be locked on that browser with your YouTube password.