YouTube launched a new app called YouTube Capture today for the iPhone and iPod Touch. It uploads video in the background when you stop recording, so it's "ready to share sooner".
"YouTube Capture was designed for speed and convenience, so you can film and upload a video in as few as 3 clicks," a YouTube spokesperson tells WebProNews. "You can post quickly and simultaneously to YouTube, Google+, Facebook, and Twitter, or share videos privately so only family and friends you choose can see it. Enhance new or existing videos with automatic color correction and stabilization, trimming the video length, and adding music soundtracks."
You can close the app, and uploading will continue in the background for ten minutes, and will resume where it left off when you open it later. It can be used to manage, edit, upload and share any videos on the device regardless of whether it was filled with Capture. It's linked to the videos from the Camera Roll.
All of the videos are stored on YouTube like normal.
"This is awesome because you can undo edits that you made to your Capture videos at any time," the spokesperson says.
There is a landscape lock reminder, which the company says is to help users remember to turn their phone horizontal so the videos look better. You can actually set Capture to automatically start recording when you turn the record screen to landscape.
The app is coming to Android in the future.
I can see this evolving into something like we discussed here, where Google is literally seeing through your eyes in Instant Upload-like fashion. Of course, that is assuming that this comes to Google Glass (and any potential contact lenses we might see down the road).