Google has introduced some more controls for users that allow you to ignore or block people.
“Ignore means you’ll see less of what a person is sharing (i.e., you’re just not interested),” says google’s Olga Wichrowska. “Block additionally limits the ways a person can interact with what you’re sharing (i.e., you don’t want anything to do with them). And in either case, we don’t notify the person that you’ve ignored or blocked them.”
When you “ignore” someone on Google+, you won’t see anything they post in the Incoming stream, you won’t get notifications about their activities and you won’t see them on your Circles page.
You can ignore people from Notifications in the Google+ bar, the Notifications stream, Incoming, or from the Circles page. Google keeps a list of the people you Ignore, so you can stop ignoring them later if you like.
Google doesn’t notify a person when you ignore them, so you don’t have to come off as rude.
There is also a “block” feature, which Google calls “much stronger” than ignore, as it says you don’t want anything to do with them on Google+. This will remove them from your Circles and Extended Circles, and you won’t see their stuff in your stream, and they won’t see anything you share with your circles, nor can they comment on your posts. Block is available everywhere ignore appears. Google also does not notify people when you’ve blocked them.
“Between Ignore and Block, we want to help you bring the nuance and richness of your real-life relationships to Google+ — whether you want to connect with a person or not,” Google says.
The features will continue to be improved upon, according to the company.