Twitter's Algorithmic Timeline Is Now The Default

Chris CrumSocial Media

Share this Post


Twitter announced its new algorithmic timeline in February. With rumors of its launch leading up to its actual release, you would have thought that Twitter was going to virtually melt down. Users freaked out about the pending change as so often happens when the services we love make adjustments.

When Twitter actually announced it, it became clear that things were maybe not such a big deal. In fact, you even had to activate the new optional version of the timeline yourself.

That appears to no longer be the case, as it is now reportedly the default. Still, you can switch it off in the settings if you like.

Twitter confirmed the change to TheNextWeb with this statement:

“As we said in our announcement, we’re rolling out our timeline improvements to everyone over time. People can still choose to opt out of it in their settings.”

Twitter did indeed say in the original announcement, "We’ve already seen that people who use this new feature tend to Retweet and Tweet more, creating more live commentary and conversations, which is great for everyone. To check it out now, just go into the timeline section of your settings and choose ‘Show me the best Tweets first’. We’ll be listening to your feedback and making it even better over time. Then we’ll be turning on the feature for you in coming weeks — look out for a notification in your timeline. We love it and think you will too. If you don’t, send your thoughts our way, and you can easily turn it off in settings."

There's also the fact that getting the regular old chronological-style timeline is as easy as scrolling down or pulling down to refresh.

It's really not a big deal.

Image via Wikimedia Commons

Chris Crum
Chris Crum has been a part of the WebProNews team and the iEntry Network of B2B Publications since 2003. Follow Chris on Twitter, on StumbleUpon, on Pinterest and/or on Google: +Chris Crum.