Quantcast

Twitter Fiction Festival Selects Participants, Starts Tomorrow

Get the WebProNews Newsletter:


Twitter Fiction Festival Selects Participants, Starts Tomorrow
[ Social Media]

Twitter has just announced its official selections for the first ever Twitter Fiction Festival, the social media site’s foray into the world of experimental fiction. Earlier this month, they selected a panel of judges to review submissions which included authors, editors, press marking directors, and educators. That panel has selected 29 different fiction projects that will be showcased from November 28th to December 2nd. Twitter says that these projects span five continents and will come to you in five different languages,

Here’s a selection of the selections:

Author Jennifer Wilson (@travelinfamily) will invite Twitter users to help her write epigraphs for gravestones. Posting photographs of the existing stones, the community input will inspire short stories about each of the departed.
Friday and Sunday at 12noon EST (17:00 GMT)

“Censortive” is a story by a Chinese author that combines the words “censor” and “sensitive” and will explore the idea of permitted speech in the People’s Republic of China.
Every night at 2am EST (7:00 GMT)

The Gronsteins are a modern American family going through a tough time after Dad lost his job. In Ben Schrank’s (@BDSchrank) story, they share a Twitter account from which they chronicle life in their home.
Wednesday through Saturday at 1pm EST (18:00 GMT)

Writing in French, Fabrice Colin (@fabricecolin) will bring us the serialized story of five strangers trapped on a bus and sharing an incredible experience.
Thursday to Sunday at 7am EST (12:00 GMT)

Emmy Laybourne (@emmylaybourne) and Anna Banks (@byannabanks) will put a humorous spin on the paranormal young adult story with love affair between a teenage girl and a…Sasquatch.
Wednesday through Sunday at 4pm EST (21:00 GMT)

In a tense psychological thriller, Andrew Pyper (@andrewpyper) re-tells the classic Henry James ghost story “The Turn of the Screw” — set in a present-day White House. We will follow the Tweets of the new nanny, who is increasingly convinced something strange is afoot.
Thursday through Sunday at 7pm EST (00:00 GMT)

Good stuff. Head on over to the Twitter blog for the complete list of all 29 participants and the times.

Of course, you can still participate even if you aren’t an official participant. Twitter suggests that you tell your experimental stories and include the #twitterfiction hashtag. The @TwitterBooks account will showcase some of the best user submissions, according to the company. So, if you have a way to utilize Twitter to make for interesting storytelling, keep at it.

If you just want to follow along with everyone else’s fiction, Twitter has set up a dedicated event page for the festival.

Twitter Fiction Festival Selects Participants, Starts Tomorrow
Top Rated White Papers and Resources
  • http://www.consultwebsites.com Scott Raymond

    Twitter is a place to tell stories. Often those stories are about news, or politics, or perhaps sports or music, but it turns out Twitter is a great place for telling fictional stories, too. As one professor from Michigan State University says, “Tweeting can be thought of as a new literary practice.” We want to celebrate that.

    At the end of November, we’ll host a five-day Twitter Fiction Festival — a virtual storytelling celebration held entirely on Twitter. The Twitter Fiction Festival (#twitterfiction) will feature creative experiments in storytelling from authors around the world.

    Twitter has hosted great experiments in fiction already, from Jennifer Egan’s “Black Box” to Teju Cole’s “Small Fates” to Dan Sinker’s @mayoremanuel. And Twitter has even inspired some literary criticism.

  • Join for Access to Our Exclusive Web Tools
  • Sidebar Top
  • Sidebar Middle
  • Sign Up For The Free Newsletter
  • Sidebar Bottom