Quantcast

LinkedIn Now Lets You Block People

    February 21, 2014
    Chris Crum
    Comments are off for this post.

LinkedIn announced that users can now block other members. According to the company, this has unsurprisingly been a highly requested feature.

“I come to you today to assure you that your concerns were heard loud and clear,” writes LinkedIn Trust & Safety head Paul Rockwell in the LinkedIn Help Center (via TechCrunch). “We built this feature not only because it was a feature our members requested, but because we also knew it was the right thing to do. I’m pleased to share that we are rolling out a new Member Blocking feature today to all LinkedIn members.”

“While on the surface this may seem like a simple feature to develop, it was not,” he adds. “There were many different use cases to consider, products and features to integrate, as well as a user interface we had to create.”

He suggests you that consider enabling anonymous profile viewing before blocking another member, and lists some other settings you might want to adjust, including disconnecting, customizing your public profile, activity broadcasts, and photo visibility.

Earlier this week, LinkedIn announced that it’s opening up its publisher platform to all members (rather than just “influencers”), and is encouraging more people to follow one another.

Image via LInkedIn, Flickr


  • seventhman

    I’m wondering how this works though, like will this include blocking people who are not in your connections? Better read more about it & thanks for sharing the news.