Google Chrome Web Store Expands Into 24 New Countries

Chris CrumTechnology

Share this Post

Google announced that the Chrome Web Store is now available in 24 new countries, after having been available in the U.S. only.

"Nine months ago, we launched the Chrome Web Store in the United States," says product manager Rahul Roy-Chowdhury. "Since then, the store has gained a lot of momentum and is now home to an ever increasing selection of apps, extensions and themes."

The new countries are:

  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland, France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

"If you are based in these initial 24 countries, you’ll find it much easier to discover and add new apps, extensions, and themes to Chrome, across a variety of categories—from games to news to productivity tools," says Roy-Chowdhury. "In most countries, for apps that require a fee, you’ll now be able to complete the entire transaction in your local currency. Starting today, you’ll also be able to access a range of new applications from international developers and publishers."

Chris Crum

Chris Crum has been a part of the WebProNews team and the iEntry Network of B2B Publications since 2003. Follow Chris on Twitter, on StumbleUpon, on Pinterest and/or on Google: +Chris Crum.