iEntry 10th Anniversary RSS Newsletter Advertising
Visit Twellow.com

FTC Slaps Hoodia and HGH Spammers

The Federal Trade Commission, via a district court judge, ordered eHealthyLife.com to stop sending emails and making allegedly false claims about its Hoodia and Human Growth Hormone products.

The FTC is prosecuting the case under both the CAN-SPAM Act and the more recent US SAFE WEB Act, saying that its spam database received over 175,000 messages making unsubstantiated claims about weight loss and health benefits deriving from use of the company's "HoodiaLife," HoodiaPlus," "HGHLife," and "HGHPlus" products.

The FTC is also claiming that the spam messages contained false "from" addresses, deceptive subject lines, and lacked an opt-out link or physical postal address.

Assumedly, the physical address would have been the US, Canada, and/or Australia, as the three named defendants, Bruce Parker, Lisa Kimsey, and Xavier Ratelle, principles of Spears Systems, Inc. (doing business as eHealthyLife) hailed from those three countries.

The federal judge ordered a temporary restraining order and asset freeze to stop the company from emailing and from making any more allegedly false claims about their products. 

About the author:
Jason Lee Miller is a WebProNews editor and writer covering business and technology.

4 Comments

Thanks for sharing this

Thanks for sharing this information. I found it very informative as I have been researching a lot lately on practical matters such as you talk about...

Hello, my name is Loren

Hello, my name is Loren Kimsey, and I am Lisa Kimsey's son.

My mother is being falsely accused of this act, and she had no idea that they where even doing it! On top of that, our family is going through hell because the FTC is freezing all our accounts, and thousands of dollars has been lost.

This is a serious issue, as most of the news reports on this matter make my Mother look like a slime ball.

I hope you all have a good day, because I know I sure wont.

What about Mega Dik?

When is the FTC going to do something about Mega Dik, ManSter, Elite Herbal, Herbal King, or what ever the hell they're calling themselves today?

manster/elite herbal

want to know the address, tel no or web site and company profile.

thanx

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
11 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
Featured Headline
FriendFeed Offers Real-Time Search
Results Actually Roll In
2 comments | 13 hours ago
 
Subscribe to WebProNews


Send me relevant info