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	<title>WebProNews &#187; CPC</title>
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	<description>Breaking News in Tech, Search, Social, &#38; Business</description>
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		<title>Google&#8217;s Mobile CPC Message: Give It Time</title>
		<link>http://www.webpronews.com/googles-mobile-cpc-message-give-it-time-2012-04</link>
		<comments>http://www.webpronews.com/googles-mobile-cpc-message-give-it-time-2012-04#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 13 Apr 2012 13:17:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Crum</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Earnings]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Mobile Advertising]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.webpronews.com/?p=138160</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Google released its Q1 earnings report on Thursday, which included another quarter of decline in cost-per-click, an area which has drawn concern from shareholders and analysts since this happened last quarter. In Q4, the decline was 8%. This time it &#8230;]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><a href="http://www.webpronews.com/google-earnings-revenue-up-24-cost-per-click-down-12-2012-04">Google released its Q1 earnings report</a> on Thursday, which included another quarter of decline in cost-per-click, an area which has drawn concern from shareholders and analysts since this happened last quarter. In Q4, the decline was 8%. This time it was 12% (year-over-year).  </p>
<p>There has been lot of <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/google-earnings-this-week-will-mobile-be-a-problem-2012-04">concern with mobile</a> in particular. People are searching with Google using mobile devices more than ever, but the CPCs have not been as good as for desktop. </p>
<p>&#8220;I see this as less of a shifting market and more as an expanded opportunity to reach consumers,&#8221; Brian Kaminski, COO of digital agency iProspect, tells WebProNews, regarding what CPC means for advertisers in an increasingly mobile market. </p>
<p>&#8220;Most of mobile queries are either incremental or with different intentions than desktop,&#8221; he adds. &#8220;The growing mobile market means that consumers will be looking for information,products and comparisons in a number of different places only underscoring the need to be present, competitive and consumer focused.&#8221;</p>
<p>Google <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/google-cost-per-click-larry-page-very-bullish-on-mobile-2012-04">CEO Larry Page discussed this</a> in the company&#8217;s earnings call, saying he&#8217;s &#8220;very, very bullish&#8221; in the mobile CPC department, suggesting that things are looking rather positive for the long term. </p>
<p>Mobile is &#8220;exploding in query growth,&#8221; Page said, adding that the formats are just adapting a lot from a &#8220;relatively crude base.&#8221; </p>
<p>&#8220;Right now, they don&#8217;t monetize well,&#8221; Page said, comparing it to how desktop search was in 2002 and 2003. People always spend most of their efforts on the major source of traffic, which is desktop, he said. But over time that will reverse, and CPCs may actually get better, he said.</p>
<p>&#8220;In addition to CPC spending within Mobile, the growth of investments made in Mobile Display has increased,&#8221; Kaminski tells us. &#8220;Additionally, when speaking of mobile, Tablet usage is generally lumped into &#8216;mobile&#8217;.  The experience on a tablet is similar to a desktop in terms of display, along with how consumers are leveraging tablets – in the evening and for shopping. This has provided another opportunity for advertisers to leverage display in order to grow their businesses.&#8221;</p>
<p>Page indicated that Google is investing heavily in areas that could eventually make mobile CPCs better. He cited Google Offers and Google Wallet as things that could have a significant impact, as the company works to integrate its various products in more ways. </p>
<p>Nikesh Arora, Google&#8217;s Chief Business Officer, made the following point during the call: Advertisers are only interested in ROI. They&#8217;re not as interested in whether it&#8217;s coming from mobile vs. desktop or other means. Google, he says, is working to dynamically allocate across different channels to help advertisers maximize ROI. </p>
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		<item>
		<title>Google Launches Enhanced CPC for AdWords</title>
		<link>http://www.webpronews.com/google-launches-enhanced-cpc-for-adwords-2010-08</link>
		<comments>http://www.webpronews.com/google-launches-enhanced-cpc-for-adwords-2010-08#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 17 Aug 2010 12:20:50 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Crum</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AdWords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.webpronews.com/?p=55133</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>Google has announced the launch of Enhanced CPC, a new automated bidding feature in AdWords, aimed at helping users improve ROI on campaigns with manual bidding. It uses the campaign's historical conversion tracking data to automatically adjust the Max CPC bid based on the likelihood that the ad will convert. <br />
<br />
Google says this should lead to more conversions while reducing the overall CPA. Take a look at this video:<br />
&#160;</p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Google has announced the launch of Enhanced CPC, a new automated bidding feature in AdWords, aimed at helping users improve ROI on campaigns with manual bidding. It uses the campaign&#8217;s historical conversion tracking data to automatically adjust the Max CPC bid based on the likelihood that the ad will convert. </p>
<p>Google says this should lead to more conversions while reducing the overall CPA. Take a look at this video:<br />
&nbsp;</p>
<p><center></p>
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<div style="display: none; position: absolute; left: -99px; top: 1px; width: 96px; padding: 4px 0pt 4px 5px; background: none repeat scroll 0% 0% white; opacity: 0.8; -moz-border-radius: 0pt 0pt 0pt 15%;" id="convertPopupBox0"><a target="_blank" href="http://2conv.com/?url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wnJi3x8rTVc?fs=1" onmouseout="this.style.color='#0000FF';" onmouseover="this.style.color='#FF0000';" style="color: rgb(0, 0, 255); font: bold 8pt sans-serif; text-decoration: none;">Get this video!</a></div>
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<p></center></p>
<p>Google points to the following as examples of what Enhanced CPC can do:</p>
<ul>
<li><em>Adjust your bid depending on how well a particular search or  display network partner site in the Google network has converted for you  in the past</em></li>
<li><em>Recognize when specific words within a keyword (e.g. &#8216;<span style="font-style: italic;">kits</span>&#8216;) convert well and adjust your bid when users search on variations of these terms (e.g. &#8216;<span style="font-style: italic;">model airplane kits for children</span>&#8216;)</em></li>
<li><em>Detect  attributes such as the user&#8217;s location, language settings, browser, and  operating system and analyze how these attributes may impact the  likelihood of your ad converting</em></li>
</ul>
<p>Conversion tracking must be enabled on you campaigns if you want to use Enhanced CPC. The feature can be found in the &quot;Bidding and Budgeting&quot; section of the settings tab.</p>
<p>For more examples and information on Enhanced CPC, check out <a href="http://adwords.blogspot.com/2010/08/increase-roi-conversions-with-enhanced.html">this post</a>.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>eBay Affiliate Program Goes from CPA to CPC</title>
		<link>http://www.webpronews.com/ebay-affiliate-program-goes-from-cpa-to-cpc-2009-08</link>
		<comments>http://www.webpronews.com/ebay-affiliate-program-goes-from-cpa-to-cpc-2009-08#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 20 Aug 2009 11:10:44 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Crum</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Affiliate Programs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPA]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[eBay]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ecommerce]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online shopping]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[quality click pricing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.webpronews.com/?p=51113</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>eBay has announced &#34;<a href="http://www.ebaypartnernetworkblog.com/en/news/announcing-quality-click-pricing/">Quality Click Pricing</a>&#34; for the <a href="https://www.ebaypartnernetwork.com/files/hub/en-US/index.html">eBay Partner Network</a> affiliate program. The company describes this as a new payout structure designed to further reward affiliates who drive incremental transactions on eBay, and who send &#34;value buyers&#34; to the company's sites. <br />
]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>eBay has announced &quot;<a href="http://www.ebaypartnernetworkblog.com/en/news/announcing-quality-click-pricing/">Quality Click Pricing</a>&quot; for the <a href="https://www.ebaypartnernetwork.com/files/hub/en-US/index.html">eBay Partner Network</a> affiliate program. The company describes this as a new payout structure designed to further reward affiliates who drive incremental transactions on eBay, and who send &quot;value buyers&quot; to the company&#8217;s sites. </p>
<p>Essentially, the program will now run on a cost-per-click basis, as opposed to a cost-per-action one. Affiliates can get paid for sending quality traffic to eBay, even if that traffic isn&#8217;t making purchases.</p>
<p><center><img alt="eBay Partner Network" src="http://images.ientrymail.com/webpronews/article_pics/ebay-partner-network.jpg" /></center></p>
<p>&quot;The price paid per click will still depend on the short-term and long-term revenue of the traffic that the publisher drives to eBay, but will now also take into account the incremental value of that traffic to eBay, i.e., whether a sale happened as a direct result of the publisher&rsquo;s actions,&quot; explains Steve Hartman of the eBay Partner Network. &quot;The greater the incremental revenue and the higher the expected lifetime value of the customers an affiliate sends, the higher the EPC and total earnings the affiliate will receive.&nbsp; Earnings Per Click (EPC) will be set daily for the previous day&rsquo;s traffic.&quot;</p>
<p>eBay says Quality Click Pricing will simplify the commission structure, and that the payout will be more closely aligned with traffic quality. In addition, the company says publishers will be rewarded for &quot;multiple sources of value in addition to sales.&quot; This includes revenue from advertising on eBay pages and PayPal transaction revenue. </p>
<p>eBay&#8217;s new model for its affiliate program will take effect for new members beginning September 1st, and for existing members October 1st. There is an <a href="http://www.ebaypartnernetworkblog.com/en/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/qcp_faq_english4.pdf">FAQ</a> (pdf) document available on the subject.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		</item>
		<item>
		<title>CPC Declines on Big 3 Search Engines, ROI Strong</title>
		<link>http://www.webpronews.com/cpc-declines-on-big-3-search-engines-roi-strong-2009-04</link>
		<comments>http://www.webpronews.com/cpc-declines-on-big-3-search-engines-roi-strong-2009-04#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 14 Apr 2009 16:58:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Crum</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Efficient Frontier]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Paid Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Research]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ROI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[search engine advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search engine marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.webpronews.com/?p=49455</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>Average cost-per-click in the US declined last year on the big three search engines according to research from <a href="http://cts.businesswire.com/ct/CT?id=smartlink&#38;url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.efrontier.com%2F&#38;esheet=5938894&#38;lan=en_US&#38;anchor=www.efrontier.com&#38;index=1">Efficient Frontier</a>. Google's fell 14%, Yahoo's fell 16%, and Microsoft's fell 28% over a year's time (<a href="http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-10218719-93.html">via CNET</a>). Essentially the study indicates that less money was spent per search ad. <br />
]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Average cost-per-click in the US declined last year on the big three search engines according to research from <a href="http://cts.businesswire.com/ct/CT?id=smartlink&amp;url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.efrontier.com%2F&amp;esheet=5938894&amp;lan=en_US&amp;anchor=www.efrontier.com&amp;index=1">Efficient Frontier</a>. Google&#8217;s fell 14%, Yahoo&#8217;s fell 16%, and Microsoft&#8217;s fell 28% over a year&#8217;s time (<a href="http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-10218719-93.html">via CNET</a>). Essentially the study indicates that less money was spent per search ad. </p>
<p>Advertisers may have cut back spending, but ROI for search engine marketing is proving strong. In Q1 2009, ROI has improved by 10% from the previous quarter. ROI jumped 30% from January to February. In fact, advertising spending even improved by 6% from Febrary to March. </p>
<p>&quot;Advertisers will continue to demand greater ROI from their search campaigns, as a buffer against economic uncertainty,&quot; says Dr. Siddarth Shah, senior business analyst at Efficient Frontier. &quot;We are at an interesting crossroads. On one hand, advertisers are slicing budgets. On the other, more users are searching online, and clicks are cheap. This provides the perfect opportunity for advertisers with deep pockets to embrace the downturn, to consolidate market share and continue growing their businesses.&quot; </p>
<p>Meanwhile, <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/topnews/2009/04/14/banner-and-video-ad-spending-on-the-rise">display and video advertising spending have been on the rise</a>. comScore showed that banner ads increased by 8% in a year&#8217;s time, and videos grew by 74%.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.comscore.com/blog/2009/04/banners_still_having_a_banner.html"><img height="320" width="451" title="Spending on Banners" alt="Spending on Banners" src="http://images.ientrymail.com/webpronews/article_pics/comscore-banner.jpg" /></a></p>
<p>Efficient Frontier&#8217;s research is based on an analysis of 84 billion impressions and 785 million clicks across a portion of their clients, which according to them, includes some of the world&#8217;s largest brands. You can get more details and statistics from their report <a href="http://au.sys-con.com/node/918883">here</a>.</p>
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		<item>
		<title>Companies Collaborate to Define Clicks</title>
		<link>http://www.webpronews.com/companies-collaborate-to-define-clicks-2009-02</link>
		<comments>http://www.webpronews.com/companies-collaborate-to-define-clicks-2009-02#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 27 Feb 2009 00:00:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Crum</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Click Fraud]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Clicks]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cost-per-click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[IAB]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Interactive Advertising Bureau]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Microsoft]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Yahoo]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.webpronews.com/?p=48841</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p><img src="file:///C:/DOCUME~1/ccrum/LOCALS~1/Temp/moz-screenshot-7.jpg" alt="" /><a href="http://www.iab.net"><img align="right" style="margin: 10px;" title="Interactive Advertising Bureau" alt="Interactive Advertising Bureau" src="http://images.ientrymail.com/webpronews/article_pics/iab.jpg" /></a>The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) has announced the release of <a href="http://www.iab.net/iab_products_and_industry_services/508676/guidelines/clickmeasurementguidelines">Click Measurement Guidelines</a>, a document establishing parameters for buying and selling cost-per-click (CPC) adver<br /><a href="http://aj.600z.com/aj/136480/0/cc?z=1"><img src="http://aj.600z.com/aj/136480/0/vc?z=1&dim=105992&kw=&click=" width="615" height="80" border="0"></a>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img src="file:///C:/DOCUME~1/ccrum/LOCALS~1/Temp/moz-screenshot-7.jpg" alt="" /><a href="http://www.iab.net"><img align="right" style="margin: 10px;" title="Interactive Advertising Bureau" alt="Interactive Advertising Bureau" src="http://images.ientrymail.com/webpronews/article_pics/iab.jpg" /></a>The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) has announced the release of <a href="http://www.iab.net/iab_products_and_industry_services/508676/guidelines/clickmeasurementguidelines">Click Measurement Guidelines</a>, a document establishing parameters for buying and selling cost-per-click (CPC) advertising.</p>
<p><strong>Among the organizations participating </strong>in the project to come up with the guidelines were Google, Yahoo, Microsoft, Advertising.com, AOL, Business.com, Click Forensics, CBS Ineractive, Compete, Disney Interaactive Media, Looksmart, Omniture, PricewaterhouseCoopers, SEMPO, WebTrends, and many more. The guidelines are designed to:</p>
<blockquote><p>- Provide a detailed definition of a &ldquo;click&rdquo; and outline standard methodologies by which clicks should be measured and counted, including the identification of invalid and/or fraudulent clicks.</p>
<p>- Define standard terms to aid in the streamlining of buying and selling of click-based media.</p>
<p>- Increase transparency and consistency in click measurements for media companies, ad-serving organizations, advertisers, and third-party click auditors.</p></blockquote>
<p><img height="92" width="100" align="left" style="margin: 10px;" title="Shuman Ghosemajumder" alt="Shuman Ghosemajumder" src="http://images.ientrymail.com/webpronews/article_pics/shuman-ghosemajumder.jpg" />&quot;Helping the interactive industry define a click and the standard for measuring one has been an extraordinary effort on the part of the IAB and its members,&quot; said Shuman Ghosemajumder, Business Product Manager for Trust &amp; Safety for Google. &quot;It is an important step that continues to reinforce interactive media&#8217;s role as the most accountable and measurable form of advertising.&quot;</p>
<p><a href="http://www.iab.net/media/file/click_measurement_022009.pdf">The document</a> (pdf) is lengthy, but one that advertisers should take the time to read. They are offering a chance for ad agencies, advertisers, publishers, and vendors to <a href="http://www.iab.net/iab_products_and_industry_services/508676/guidelines/clickmeasurementguidelines">provide feedback </a> on the guidelines, so you might be able to get your two cents included too if something of value has not been referenced.</p>
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		<item>
		<title>Utilizing Match Types Can Save Your SEM Dollars</title>
		<link>http://www.webpronews.com/utilizing-match-types-can-save-your-sem-dollars-2008-11</link>
		<comments>http://www.webpronews.com/utilizing-match-types-can-save-your-sem-dollars-2008-11#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 19 Nov 2008 20:11:13 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Crum</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AdCenter]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AdWords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Economy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Microsoft]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[search engine advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Videos]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.webpronews.com/?p=47734</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>Google's been offering some great <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/topnews/2008/11/11/are-you-using-the-right-adwords-option">AdWords tips</a> lately. Specifically, they recently discussed the advantages of using the broad match option and the negative keyword option. Mike McDonald also <a href="http://videos.webpronews.com/2008/11/11/thinking-of-launching-a-negative-keyword-campaign/">spoke with Ken Jurina</a> of <a href="http://www.epiar.com/">Epiar</a> about the negative keyword option in the following interview at PubCon.</p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Google&#8217;s been offering some great <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/topnews/2008/11/11/are-you-using-the-right-adwords-option">AdWords tips</a> lately. Specifically, they recently discussed the advantages of using the broad match option and the negative keyword option. Mike McDonald also <a href="http://videos.webpronews.com/2008/11/11/thinking-of-launching-a-negative-keyword-campaign/">spoke with Ken Jurina</a> of <a href="http://www.epiar.com/">Epiar</a> about the negative keyword option in the following interview at PubCon.</p>
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<p>While there is a ton of great info related to the different AdWords keyword options, <b>Microsoft AdCenter offers some options of their own</b>, that aren&#8217;t really discussed as often as those of AdWords. A <a href="http://adcentercommunity.com/blogs/advertiser/archive/2008/11/19/lowering-cpc-with-match-types-and-negative-keywords.aspx">post today from Tina Kelleher at the Microsoft AdCenter blog</a> talks about some <b>ways to reduce your CPC</b> (cost-per-click) with some of their own options. A couple of ways to do so include:</p>
<blockquote><p>- Bidding across Match Types, and <br /> &#8211; Using negative keywords to qualify traffic</p></blockquote>
<p>When it comes to bidding across Match Types, <a href="http://adcentercommunity.com/blogs/advertiser/archive/2008/11/19/lowering-cpc-with-match-types-and-negative-keywords.aspx">Kelleher says</a>:</p>
<p> <i>If you&rsquo;re unsure of what the differences are between Exact, Phrase and Broad match types, I would recommend reading through Lauren Taft-McPhee&rsquo;s post on the topic before continuing on as I am going to assume these concepts are familiar to you.</p>
<p> Bidding aggressively on Exact match only is a great strategy for keeping your traffic highly targeted and relevant.&nbsp; If, however, you&#8217;re finding that your impressions aren&#8217;t as high as you&#8217;d like them to be, you should expand your bidding to Phrase match, Broad match, or both.&nbsp; Doing so can help lower your overall average CPC as competitive pricing can sometimes be lower on different match types.&nbsp; </i></p>
<p> <a href="http://adcentercommunity.com/blogs/advertiser/archive/2008/09/26/understanding-how-match-types-affect-your-ppc-campaigns-in-adcenter.aspx"><img title="Match Type Chart" alt="Match Type Chart" src="http://images.ientrymail.com/webpronews/article_pics/match-type-table.jpg" /></a></p>
<p> <b>As far as negative keywords</b>, it is basically the same concept as that talked about by Google <a href="http://adwords.blogspot.com/2008/11/reach-more-customers-with-broad-match.html">here</a>. Kelleher gives an example about a travel agency. A travel agency might bid on &quot;holiday travel&quot;, but use negative keywords to eliminate searches for &quot;Billie Holiday&quot; or lyrics to the Madonna song &quot;Holiday.&quot;</p>
<p> The lesson here is that when using search engine advertising, <b>you&#8217;ve got options</b> available to you that you would do well to utilize. This is especially true as marketing budgets tighten as a result of the economy, and marketers are looking to reallocate their budgets to make sure their dollars are being spent in the wisest possible strategies. Utilizing the right match options whether you&#8217;re using AdWords or AdCenter (or both) can help you reduce that amount of dollars that are being spent. Microsoft has another good article on Match Types <a href="http://adcentercommunity.com/blogs/advertiser/archive/2008/09/26/understanding-how-match-types-affect-your-ppc-campaigns-in-adcenter.aspx">here</a>.</p>
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		<title>MySpace Announces MyAds</title>
		<link>http://www.webpronews.com/myspace-announces-myads-2008-10</link>
		<comments>http://www.webpronews.com/myspace-announces-myads-2008-10#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 13 Oct 2008 14:00:48 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Crum</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ad targeting]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Facebook]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[myads]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[MySpace]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[personalization]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social networks]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.webpronews.com/?p=47286</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>Last month, we reported that <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/topnews/2008/09/24/myspace-compliments-myspace-music-with-ad-service">MySpace had launched a new self-serve advertising platform</a>, but it was officially announced last night with a name - <a href="https://advertise.myspace.com/login.html">MyAds (beta)</a>. With this platform, users are able to create their own display banner ads with the following advantages working for them (as <a href="https://advertise.myspace.com/faq.html">cited</a> by the social network):</p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Last month, we reported that <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/topnews/2008/09/24/myspace-compliments-myspace-music-with-ad-service">MySpace had launched a new self-serve advertising platform</a>, but it was officially announced last night with a name &#8211; <a href="https://advertise.myspace.com/login.html">MyAds (beta)</a>. With this platform, users are able to create their own display banner ads with the following advantages working for them (as <a href="https://advertise.myspace.com/faq.html">cited</a> by the social network):</p>
<blockquote><p>- <b>Targeted reach</b> &#8211; you can narrow your campaign to a specific audience of MySpace users, including gender, age range or geographic area based on the info that users provide on their profiles.</p>
<p> &#8211; <b>Ease of use</b> &#8211; You can get your campaign online in just a few simple steps using tools provided by MySpace.</p>
<p> &#8211; <b>Spending Control</b> &#8211; You can determine how much you want to spend on a campaign, anywhere between $25 and $10,000. You&#8217;re only charged when users click on your ads (CPC rates start at $0.25).</p>
<p> &#8211; <b>Measurable Performance</b> &#8211; you can track the performance of your ads and edit them, as well as adjust your spending.</p></blockquote>
<p> <center><a href="https://advertise.myspace.com"><img title="MyAds" alt="MyAds" src="http://images.ientrymail.com/webpronews/article_pics/myads.jpg" /></a></center>
<p>The service initially seemed targeted toward musicians, as it surfaced near the launch of <a href="http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=music">MySpace Music</a>, and seemed a perfect way for bands to promote themselves even further with MySpace. While this is still true, MySpace has stressed that the service is really for everybody including &quot;filmmakers, musicians, politicians, authors, video bloggers, non-profit orgs, realtors, restauranters, comedians, radio stations, and doctors,&quot; <a href="http://mashable.com/2008/10/12/myads/">according to Mashable&#8217;s&nbsp; Mark &#8216;Rizzn&#8217; Hopkins</a>, and backing up my <a href="http://www.smallbusinessnewz.com/topnews/2008/09/26/a-new-advertising-opportunity-from-myspace">suggestion for small businesses</a> to take advantage of the program. </p>
<p> MyAds is similar to Facebook&#8217;s advertising offering, but Facebook only offers text ads whereas MySpace offers display ads only. Are these the answers the social network &quot;big boys&quot; have been looking for? Michael Arrington at <a href="http://www.techcrunch.com/2008/10/12/myspace-launches-my-ads-self-serve-ad-platform/">TechCrunch writes</a>:</p>
<p> <i>The big social networks are still trying to find their &ldquo;Google Moment&rdquo; &#8211; the point when (and if) they find a way to monetize these massive audiences they&rsquo;ve attracted. Google was just a great search engine until they matched it with contextual advertising. MySpace and Facebook need to find their own revenue engine.</p>
<p> Facebook will probably only generate $300 million or so in revenue this year. MySpace is ahead of them, with $850 million or so in revenue last year and a projected $1 billion in fiscal 2008 (which ends next June for them). But it&rsquo;s still a far cry from what Google generates per unique monthly visitor.</i></p>
<p> I&#8217;m not going to say it&#8217;s the next AdSense, but I think MyAds will be pretty big for MySpace, and even bigger for its users. The ease-of-use that will allow &quot;Joe MySpace-User&quot; to design their own ads and target them at cheap rates is going to appeal to a whole lot of people, particularly those who have had trouble getting Social Media Marketing to work for them. </p>
<p> The recent launch of MySpace Music should only help the social network grow as well, and that means potential target audiences for ads will grow right along with it, and with the sheer catalog MySpace Music offers, there will be no genre left out, leaving plenty of room for every demographic as long as they like music in any form. Let&#8217;s just hope advertisers can avoid the kind of <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/topnews/2008/09/04/facebook-ads-rubbing-some-the-wrong-way">insulting ads that Facebook members have been seeing</a> based on that network&#8217;s ad personalization capabilities.</p>
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		<title>Son of Click Fraud: Cookie Stuffing</title>
		<link>http://www.webpronews.com/son-of-click-fraud-cookie-stuffing-2008-10</link>
		<comments>http://www.webpronews.com/son-of-click-fraud-cookie-stuffing-2008-10#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 08 Oct 2008 17:52:08 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>WebProNews Staff</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Click Fraud]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cost-per-action]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPA]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SEO]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.webpronews.com/?p=47237</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>A phrase like &#8220;cookie stuffing&#8221; sounds like it could have only pleasant connotations: Cookie Monster cookie-stuffing his face; ice cream with cookie stuffing; the cream between Oreos. Leave it to a lawyer to run that for everybody. <br />]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>A phrase like &ldquo;cookie stuffing&rdquo; sounds like it could have only pleasant connotations: Cookie Monster cookie-stuffing his face; ice cream with cookie stuffing; the cream between Oreos. Leave it to a lawyer to run that for everybody. </p>
<p>At least Harvard&rsquo;s Ben Edelman is thorough in his analysis of <a href="http://www.benedelman.org/news/100708-1.html">three different kinds of cost-per-action fraud</a>, all of which involve a different form of cookie stuffing&mdash;making it appear links have been followed when they haven&rsquo;t. Detecting the practice isn&rsquo;t exactly rewarding though, and Edelman&rsquo;s analysis is a bit anticlimactic. </p>
<p>Previously on the Internet, the big topic was PPC fraud, also known as click fraud, where bots or teams of clickers would go out and click on ads in order to obliterate a competitor&rsquo;s search ad budget and move up their own ads. A couple of settled lawsuits and some tweaks to the system later, cost-per-action became the new wave of referral commerce. Instead of just following one link to a webpage, users had to actually do something&mdash;like browse the site, click a specific link on the site, or buy something&mdash;in order for referrers and affiliates to grab commissions. </p>
<p>What seems like a simple and readily adoptable solution, though, was an invitation to craftier gamers to make it only appear to retailers users had completed desired actions. This is where cookie stuffing comes in. When consumers visit a specific affiliate site, or load an affiliate banner, just as examples, the affiliate sends also a small iframe of 0 height and width (so the user doesn&rsquo;t see it at all) which embeds a cookie onto the consumer&rsquo;s browser that will make the affiliate appear to be the direct referral if and when the user actually visits the target site, usually a larger retailer, like Amazon. </p>
<p>This works because most retailers have an agreement with affiliates that if the desired action occurs within a certain time frame (called a &ldquo;return-days period), then the retailer sends along the commission. This allows affiliates to cash in on an eventuality without being the direct referral. </p>
<p>Edelman does provide specific examples, and things get a little exciting when he posts actual names and addresses of people who appear to be engaging in these sneaky practices. But there doesn&rsquo;t seem to be much incentive to nip it, though. In addition to the highly technical and difficult process of identifying the practice of cookie-stuffing, Edelman notes there is little affiliate incentive to do anything about it.</p>
<p>&ldquo;For some merchants and networks, mixed incentives further hinder efforts to prevent these fraudulent practices. In the short run, affiliate networks and merchants&#8217; in-house affiliate marketing staff stand to lose from rigorous enforcement &#8212; reducing their commissionable base, reducing the size of their marketing programs, and distracting their attention from activities that more directly increase their respective short-run compensation. Thus, in the short run, both groups may perceive that they can increase their profits by deemphasizing fraud prevention.&rdquo;</p>
<p>That is of course, unless merchants start making a stink about paying extra and legitimate affiliates begin caring about affiliate reputations. <br />&nbsp;</p>
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		<title>Clicks Down, Revenue Up On Google</title>
		<link>http://www.webpronews.com/clicks-down-revenue-up-on-google-2008-03</link>
		<comments>http://www.webpronews.com/clicks-down-revenue-up-on-google-2008-03#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 04 Mar 2008 16:37:18 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>WebProNews Staff</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AdSense]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AdWords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.webpronews.com/?p=44354</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>LeeAnn Prescott, EfficientFrontier's director of research and communications and WebProNews's favorite statistician, concurs with comScore's recent bombshell that the number of paid clicks on Google were down in January. Wall Street's pummeling of Google's stock, however, was &#34;an unnecessarily strong reaction.&#34;</p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>LeeAnn Prescott, EfficientFrontier&#8217;s director of research and communications and WebProNews&#8217;s favorite statistician, concurs with comScore&#8217;s recent bombshell that the number of paid clicks on Google were down in January. Wall Street&#8217;s pummeling of Google&#8217;s stock, however, was &quot;an unnecessarily strong reaction.&quot;</p>
<div style="font-size: 10px; float: right; margin: 0px 0px 5px 5px; width: 200px; color: #999999"><a title="Obama, Google Tops At Digg" target="_blank" href="http://www.efrontier.com/efficient-frontier/"><img title="Efficient Frontier Logo" height="43" alt="Efficient Frontier Logo" width="200" border="0" src="http://images.ientrymail.com/webpronews/article_pics/ef-header-sub.jpg" /></a> Efficient Frontier Logo <br />(Photo Credit: Efficient Frontier)</div>
<p>Though paid clicks were down by 5% from last year among EF&#8217;s clients, advertiser spend on Google was actually up about 7%. Click-through rates, though, improved by 10%.</p>
<p>As a consequence, fewer, better-converting clicks are high-priced, meaning that cost-per-click rose by 13%.</p>
<p>&quot;This data suggests, as Comscore posited, that Google is becoming more efficient at serving ads by delivering more relevant clicks to advertisers,&quot; writes Prescott. &quot;Thus it is able to charge a higher premium for those ads, hence the increase in CPCs.&quot;</p>
<p>Prescott&#8217;s assessment matches the newest leading theory about <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/topnews/2008/03/03/google-banks-on-search-ad-real-estate">what Google is doing</a> with their ads. What&#8217;s lost in quantity is made up for in quality. Moreover, it&#8217;s a seemingly renewed focus on the company&#8217;s core competency, which should make investors less jittery about the company&#8217;s future. <br />&nbsp;</p>
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		<title>Google Sacrifices Clicks To Increase Advertiser ROI</title>
		<link>http://www.webpronews.com/google-banks-on-search-ad-real-estate-2008-03</link>
		<comments>http://www.webpronews.com/google-banks-on-search-ad-real-estate-2008-03#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 03 Mar 2008 22:53:01 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>WebProNews Staff</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Financial]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.webpronews.com/?p=44345</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>Google investors are still at the table eating their losses after comScore's report that paid click revenues were flat in the month of January. Impending recession was the chief suspect among speculators, but nobody finds any real support for that. More astute observers noticed that revenue flattened very soon after webmasters began reporting on <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/topnews/2008/01/31/adsense-earnings-down">decreases in AdSense</a> earnings.</p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Google investors are still at the table eating their losses after comScore&#8217;s report that paid click revenues were flat in the month of January. Impending recession was the chief suspect among speculators, but nobody finds any real support for that. More astute observers noticed that revenue flattened very soon after webmasters began reporting on <a href="http://www.webpronews.com/topnews/2008/01/31/adsense-earnings-down">decreases in AdSense</a> earnings.</p>
<p>Remember that? I&#8217;m sure you do. Our readers had lots and lots to say about it, and posed lots and lots of theories, again with the economy as the prime culprit. But what if I told you that revenues were flat and Google appears to think that&#8217;s a good thing? It&#8217;s all about the quality of search ad real estate, baby.</p>
<p>A leading theory is that Google decreased the clickable area of AdSense ads in order to cut down on accidental clicks. They did that about mid-November, just before some publishers noticed a drop in earnings, which was just weeks before comScore released a report saying AdSense revenues had flattened.</p>
<p>If decreasing the clickable area of an Adsense ad is the direct cause, why would a smart company like Google do such a thing? The answer posed for that question is that Google plans to make it up by creating a higher value on the clicks that do not happen accidentally. This could be a win win win for Google, Adwords buyers and Adsense partners, as referrals cost more, but are more likely to convert. <br />&nbsp;</p>
<p>ComScore also <a href="http://www.comscore.com/blog/2008/02/why_googles_surprising_paid_click_data_are_less_surprising.html">believes</a> that the flattening in January revenues is due to a new Google strategy to raise the value of clicks, i.e., fewer clicks for more money. <br />&nbsp;</p>
<p>In lieu of economic causes, comScore&#8217;s Magid Abraham and James Lamberti write, &quot;The evidence suggests that the softness in Google&rsquo;s paid click metrics is primarily a result of Google&rsquo;s own quality initiatives that result in a reduction in the number of paid listings and, therefore, the <b>opportunity</b> for paid clicks to occur.</p>
<p>&quot;In addition, the reduction in the incidence of paid listings existed progressively throughout 2007 and was successfully offset by improved revenue per click. It is entirely possible, if not likely, that the improved revenue yield will continue to deliver strong revenue growth in the first quarter. Separately, there is no evidence of a slowdown in consumers clicking on paid search ads for rest of the US search market, which comprises 40% of all searches.&quot;</p>
<p>So even though there were fewer clicks in 2007, Google made more money. It looks like they&#8217;re trying to repeat that in 2008.</p>
<p>Bill Tancer at Hitwise similarly found that if declines in revenues were economic-based, or an indicator of recession, then Google traffic to retail sites might be among the first hit. However, Google traffic to shopping and classified sites was actually up year over year. <br />&nbsp;</p>
<p>No slowdown among RimmKaufman clients, either, says Alan RimmKaufman. &quot;Across our clients, comparing February 2008 to February 2007, we did <i>not</i> observe evidence of an advertising or sales slow-down: median same-client Google ad-spend was up 22% year-over-year, and corresponding same-client resulting PPC sales were up 26%.&quot; <br />&nbsp;</p>
<p><a name="resume"></a></p>
<p>In fact, measured by their share of RimmKaufman&#8217;s clients, Google is 5&frac12; times bigger than Yahoo, and 750 times larger than Ask.com.</p>
<p>EfficientFrontier also presents unfathomable numbers from among its clients. Among them, Google pulled in 76.6% of total search spend, and, <i>get this</i>, 97% of the extra money advertisers allocated for search last year.</p>
<p>That&#8217;s interesting considering other numbers show that MSN shows the highest return on investment, while Google&#8217;s is the lowest. If so, why is Google grabbing so much of that share? Well, you&#8217;ve probably already answered: Sheer numbers. Google runs 2/3 of the search market.</p>
<p>And that gives them the leverage to inflate one area while deflating another. Investors are already nervous about Google getting away from its core competency&mdash;search advertising. Ensuring as much revenue in that area as possible is a good business move. While Google&#8217;s chief economist Hal Varian contends that &quot;there are very small costs of switching to an alternative search engine for users, advertisers, and publishers,&quot; the reality is that switching could cost a lot in lost traffic. But it was a nice try at convincing us.</p>
<p>And so it becomes relatively clear why Google leads the other search engines in CPC inflation (22% versus less than 3% from Yahoo and MSN): because they can.</p>
<p>Google has also decreased the number of ads that appear on search results, making that real estate that much more valuable. Google is killing two birds with one stone: increase the quality of search advertising while increasing revenue. All that said, we&#8217;re betting Google&#8217;s Q1 report will have some surprisingly positive numbers&mdash;and if their stock price still goes down it might be safe to say BUY, BUY, BUY!</p>
<p><b>More Stats: </b></p>
<p>ClickForensics (which makes its money from fighting click fraud, mind you, reports that the overall industry click fraud rate rose to 16.6%, up from 14.2% the year before.</p>
<p>Click fraud on AdSense and Yahoo Publishers was 28.3% in Q4 2007, up from 19.2 percent the year before.</p>
<p>ComScore reports the percentage of Google pages with at least one ad on them dropped from 52% to 48%. Paid click rate declined by 8% from .24 to .22.</p>
<p>Google&#8217;s worldwide revenue increased 68% in 2007. Revenue per paid click increased 21%.</p>
<p>EfficientFrontier says its clients enjoyed a 12.5% increase in click-through rates in Q4 2007.</p>
<p>MSN brought in 27% higher ROI than the other two big search engines last year.</p>
<p>One advertiser reports Google AdWords ads crush Facebook content ads. Google: 15,386 impressions; 688 clicks; 4.47% CTR. Facebook: 225,875 impressions; 178 clicks; CTR 0.08%.</p>
<p>EfficientFrontier&#8217;s LeeAnn Prescott submits: In December 2007, CTR on Google search was 31 times greater than on Google&#8217;s content network (AdSense), at 2.14% for search and 0.07% for content&hellip; CTR on AdSense has dropped by 75% over the past year, even while content spend grew 39% among the same group of clients.</p>
<p>PlentyOfFish&#8217;s Marcus Frind submits: The CTR on text [AdSense] ads declined about 60% in the last 2 months with Google&#8217;s changes. Image ads on the other hand stayed the same.&nbsp; If you take a screen shot of a text ad and then run it as an image ad it will get 2 times the click thru rate.<br />&nbsp;</p>
<p><b>Sources: <br /></b></p>
<p><a href="http://www.comscore.com/blog/2008/02/why_googles_surprising_paid_click_data_are_less_surprising.html">http://www.comscore.com/blog/2008/02/why_googles_surprising_paid_click_data_are_less_surprising.html</a></p>
<p><a href="http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2008/02/our-secret-sauce.html">http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2008/02/our-secret-sauce.html</a></p>
<p><a href="http://weblogs.hitwise.com/bill-tancer/2008/02/google_does_search_data_indica.html">http://weblogs.hitwise.com/bill-tancer/2008/02/google_does_search_data_indica.html</a></p>
<p><a href="http://efrontier.com/efficient-frontier/resources/research/docs/SearchEnginePerformanceQ407.pdf">http://efrontier.com/efficient-frontier/resources/research/docs/SearchEnginePerformanceQ407.pdf</a></p>
<p><a href="http://blog.efrontier.com/insights/2008/02/google-becoming.html">http://blog.efrontier.com/insights/2008/02/google-becoming.html</a></p>
<p><a href="http://blog.efrontier.com/insights/2008/01/click-through-r.html">http://blog.efrontier.com/insights/2008/01/click-through-r.html</a></p>
<p><a href="http://blog.auinteractive.com/facebook-ads-dont-work-heres-proof">http://blog.auinteractive.com/facebook-ads-dont-work-heres-proof</a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.rimmkaufman.com/rkgblog/2008/03/03/feb-2008-ppc-share/">http://www.rimmkaufman.com/rkgblog/2008/03/03/feb-2008-ppc-share/</a></p>
<p><a href="http://plentyoffish.wordpress.com/2008/01/04/how-to-advertise-on-adsenseplentyoffish/">http://plentyoffish.wordpress.com/2008/01/04/how-to-advertise-on-adsenseplentyoffish/</a></p>
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