All Posts Tagged Tag: ‘Authors’

‘WomanCode’ Author Alisa Vitti Gives A Google Talk

Alisa Vitti, author of WomanCode: Perfect Your Cycle, Amplify Your Fertility, Supercharge Your Sex Drive, and Become a Power Source, recently participated in an “At Google” talk. The company has now made the discussion available for your viewing pleasure. “Her book teaches you how to support the chemical conversation of your entire endocrine system, from your head to your ovaries,” …

Read More

Franz Kafka Google Doodle Hits The U.S.

As previously reported, Google is celebrating the birthday of acclaimed writer Franz Kafka. The doodle went live yesterday on the other side of the world, when it became July 3rd, and now it’s up here in our neck of the woods. The doodle specifically honors “Die Verwandlung,” or “The Metamorphosis,” one of Kafka’s most well-known and influential stories, which was …

Read More

Bestselling Author Marianne Williamson Talks At Google

Bestselling author Marianne Williamson recently gave an “At Google” talk discussing “the spiritual principles of creativity and leadership.” Google has now made it available for the public to watch. The talk took place on June 5th. More recent At Google Talks here.

Read More

‘Paradise Guest House’ Author Ellen Sussman Speaks At Google

Bestselling Author Ellen Sussman recently participated in an “At Google” talk, which Google has now made available for everyone. She speaks about her book, The Paradise Guest House, which Google recommends for fans of Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach. The talk was recorded on May 28th. More recent At Google talks here.

Read More

‘Farmer’s Market Cookbook’ Author Amelia Saltsman Speaks At Google

Amelia Saltsman, author of The Santa Monica Farmer’s Market Cookbook, recently gave an At Google talk, which Google has now made publicly available. The talk, which took place on May 16, features Saltsman demonstrating some of her recipes. More recent At Google talks here.

Read More

Political Economist Mark Blyth Talks At Google

Political economist Mark Blyth recently gave an “At Google” talk, which Google has now made publicly available via YouTube. Blyth is the author of Great Transformations: Economic Ideas and Institutional Change in the Twentieth Century; editor of The Routledge Handbook of International Political Economy: IPE as a Global Conversation, and co-editor of Constructing the International Economy. Blyth is currently working …

Read More

Jack Vance Dies: Sci-Fi & Fantasy Writer Was 96

John Holbrook Vance, better known to the literary world as Jack Vance, has died. He was 96. Vance, a prolific author who penned more than 60 books in his more than 60-year career, wrote across multiple genres including mystery, sci-fi, and fantasy. Most of his work was penned under the name Jack Vance, but he also had multiple pseudonyms inducing …

Read More

‘Gamification Revolution’ Author Gabe Zichermann Talks At Google

Author Gabe Zichermann recently stopped by the Googleplex to discuss his latest book, “Gamification Revolution.” Google has made the talk available on YouTube: “Gamification: It’s the hottest new strategy in business, and for good reason–it’s helping leading companies create unprecedented engagement with customers and employees,” Google says in the video description. “Gamification uses the latest innovations from game design, loyalty …

Read More

Bernard Waber Dies: Children’s Author Was 91

Bernard Waber, beloved children’s author and illustrator, has died at the age of 91 after a long illness. Waber is probably best known for his books The House on East 88th Street and Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile (including his many subsequent Lyle books). Waber describes how he got into drawing in a biographical essay: (image) My own early efforts at drawing …

Read More

‘Farmacology’ Author Daphne Miller Talks At Google

Daphne Miller, author of the book, “Farmacology: What Innovative Family Farming Can Teach Us About Health and Healing” recently gave an Authors At Google talk discussing her work. “Increasingly disillusioned by mainstream medicine’s mechanistic approach to healing and fascinated by the farming revolution that is changing the way we think about our relationship to the earth, Miller left her medical …

Read More

Maya Angelou Talks About Her Childhood on Mother’s Day

It can be hard to accurately express feelings on Mother’s Day, and who better to take up the task than a poet? Maya Angelou has just released her seventh autobiography, titled Mom & Me & Mom. The book chronicles the author‘s memories of her mother and grandmother, who each helped to raise her at different points in her childhood. Angelou …

Read More

‘Vietnamese Home Cooking’ Author Charles Phan Talks At Google

Charles Phan, author of “Vietnamese Home Cooking” recently participated in an “At Google” talk, discussing his book. “In his eagerly awaited first cookbook, award-winning chef Charles Phan from San Francisco’s Slanted Door restaurant introduces traditional Vietnamese cooking to home cooks by focusing on fundamental techniques and ingredients,” says Google in the video description. Google offers the book itself on Google …

Read More

Page 2 of 4«1234»