Pinterest announced today that it has added new controls for people to block and report users. There is a "block user" feature, which can be accessed on an individual' profile by hovering over the small flag icon on the right-hand side of their profile info. From there, you can just choose the option "block username".
Here's what it looks like:
"Blocking prevents both of you from being able to follow each other’s boards as well as like, repin, and comment on each other’s pins," explains Pinterest software engineer Dannie Chu. "When you block someone, the other person is not automatically notified. However, a blocked person will know they’ve been blocked if he or she tries to follow you or interact with your pins. "
You can also report a user from the same menu (as pictured). When you report someone's profile, Pinterest sends an alert to its Community team, which will review the account.
The features will be rolling out through the week on the web version of Pinterest. The features will also be available in the next mobile update.
Pinterest has also added some new settings for users to control the types of emails they want to receive from the site. More on that here.