Phishers Using Google Calendar Invites

    December 30, 2008
    Chris Crum

Phishing attempts have been spotted that appear as Google Calendar event invitations. Be wary of any invitations that ask for your password. This should be obvious by now, but these phishers still manage to trick people.

As with most phishing emails, it appears to be somewaht legitimate. They come from email addresses that say (with the XXXX being replaced by a four-digit number), but as John Leyden at The Register notes, the real Google inserts the real name of the recipient in email invitations.

Graham Cluley at Sophos provides the following screenshot of the malicious invitation email:

 Part of the invitation says:

THIS Email is from Gmail Customer Care and we are sending it to every Gmail Email User Accounts Owner for safety. we are having congestions due to the anonymous registration of Gmail accounts so we are shutting down some Gmail accounts and your account was among those to be deleted. We are sending you this email so that you can verify and let us know if you still want to use this account.

Your Google username and password are then requested. "Remember, you really are on Google’s Calendar website," notes Cluley. "You haven’t been taken to a fake site posing as Google, but alarm bells should definitely be ringing in your head at this point."

This is not the first time threats have circulated involving Google Calendar. Back in June Google Blogoscoped reported on a similar incident.

Just remember, Google should never ask for your password. If they (or others for that matter) do, you’re most likely dealing with phishing.