Quantcast

Online Holiday Spending Passes $100 Billion

Get the WebProNews Newsletter:
[ Technology]

The year 2006 was a record breaker for e-commerce as online retail spending passed the $100 billion mark, according comScore.

In all, the year was up 24 percent over 2005, raking in a total of $102.1 billion, nearly $20 billion more than in 2005. The holiday season was an exclamation point to the year as online shoppers increased their spend by $5 billion (26%) to $24.6 billion.

During that blistering holiday season, 12 days saw spending over $600 million, with Cyber Monday at the bottom of the list at $607 million.

At the top of the list was Wednesday, December 13, with $666. . .er, $667 million in spending. The 13th was followed by Monday, December 11th, raking in $660.8 million, and December 4th, with $647 million.

Here are the top 12 holiday spending days, according to comScore, ranked by dollars spent:

1 Wednesday, December 13 $666.9

2 Monday, December 11 $660.8

3 Monday, December 4 $647.5

4 Friday, December 8 $638.2

5 Thursday, December 14 $634.4

6 Wednesday, December 6 $630.6

7 Thursday, December 7 $629.4

8 Friday, December 15 $623.9

9 Tuesday, December 12 $619.8

10 Tuesday, December 5 $612.3

11 Tuesday, November 28 $608.2

12 Monday, November 27 $607.6

comScore says shoppers behaved much like they do in the brick-and-mortar world, waiting until the last minute to check off their lists. The first three weeks of the holiday season were “modest” in their growth over the 2005 season.

But as the nine weeks progressed, more shoppers headed online with procrastinators leading the way to a 45 percent increase over the previous year during the week ending December 24th.

Tag:

Add to Del.icio.us | Digg | Reddit | Furl

Bookmark WebProNews:

Online Holiday Spending Passes $100 Billion
Comments Off
Top Rated White Papers and Resources

Comments are closed.