MySpace, YouTube Announce Reporters To Cover Davos

    January 26, 2009

One YouTube user and one MySpace user will be attending the Annual Meeting of the World Economic Forum in Davos-Klosters following online contests on both sites.

The two "Citizen Reporters" will attend the conference and will report back by using MySpace and YouTube.

Rebecca McQuigg from Los Angles was chosen by the "MySpace Journal" panel of judges that included Mark Adams (Head of Communications of the World Economic Forum), Arianna Huffington (Co-Founder and Editor-in-Chief of The Huffington Post), Frank Luntz (Communications Specialist and Political Consultant) and Chris DeWolfe (CEO and Co-Founder of MySpace) to represent the MySpace community.

MySpace, YouTube Announce Reporters To Cover Davos

The "MySpace Journal" contest gave users less than a week to submit a video explaining why they should be chosen to attend Davos and report on the conference by answering one of these questions:

–If you were given the opportunity to take one person (living or historical figure) to Davos in order to make an impact on the conference, who would it be and why?

— If you could engage the entire MySpace community in doing one thing to help make an economic difference, what would it be?

–Why do you deserve the chance to attend the World Economic Forum as the MySpace Special Correspondent and how will your participation engage the audience?

McQuigg will receive all-expense paid travel to Davos, Switzerland and will document her experience by blogging/vlogging on MySpace, and on the Wall Street Journal online.

Pablo Camacho from Bogota, Columbia has been chosen to represent the YouTube community.

"For the past few years we’ve worked with the World Economic Forum to help world leaders and citizens share ideas on how to improve the world, but this is the first year that someone from the YouTube community will attend the forum in person," said Patrick Walker, YouTube’s Director of Video Partnerships for Europe, the Middle East and Africa.

The forum will be held from January 28 thru February 1.