Here’s What Texting While Driving Will Cost You in the US
If you’re caught texting while driving, the fine you could be forced to pay varies wildly depending on which US state you’re in when you’re caught in the act.
According to a handy map compiled by Mother Jones, the lowest maximum fine for a first-time offender resides in California at just $20. And according to the map, you really don’t want to be caught texting while driving in Alaska.
Only four states – Montana, South Dakota, South Carolina, and Arizona – currently have no statewide bans on texting while driving. The median penalty nationwide for the offense comes in at $100.
Of course, these are the maximum fines that can be levied. In a state like Alaska, prosecutors have stated that this maximum fine would only be levied in rare circumstances where the party was deemed a “menace on the road.” Still, Alaska is by far the worst place to get caught with your phone out on the road – especially if your texting results in an injury to another driver. In Alaska, if your texting while driving results in the death of another motorist, you could be hit with a $250,000 fine and be forced to spend 20 years in prison.
Long story short – don’t text and drive. Anywhere. Every year, the reckless practice is responsible for over 100,000 automobile crashes. It’s stupid, and I promise you that whatever you’re saying can wait.
Image via Thinkstock