Google My Business Now Lets You Close, Reopen Business Locations

Chris CrumBusiness

Share this Post

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 9.35.27 AM

Google announced on its Advertiser Community site that Google My Business will now let you mark a location closed in the list view to keep users up to date. You can also now reopen a location if need be.

Google's Elizabeth P. writes (via Search Engine Roundtable), "Multiple locations cannot be closed or reopened via spreadsheet, but you can close multiple locations and reopen multiple locations in Google My Business."

To mark one location as closed, click the location in list view, and click "Mark permanently closed" in the box at the top right of the page. Click "Mark permanently closed" again in the dialog box that appears. The location will then appear as closed in your account and to users on Google.

You'll need to verify that the location is closed when Google shows you this:

Just click yes to confirm or no if the location is still open.

To reopen a business, click Reopen from the red bar in the box at the top right of the page when you're in list view. From there, the process is basically the same.

Images via Google

Chris Crum
Chris Crum has been a part of the WebProNews team and the iEntry Network of B2B Publications since 2003. Follow Chris on Twitter, on StumbleUpon, on Pinterest and/or on Google: +Chris Crum.