Google May Kill Your Business Listing If You Don't Show Them You're Active

Chris CrumBusiness

Share this Post

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 11.08.43 AM

If you haven't logged into your Google My Business account lately, you might want to stop by and verify your business listing(s). If you don't, you run the risk of Google killing your business listing, which will be a much bigger headache than just taking a minute to check in.

A couple months ago, Google started warning businesses to log in and verify or face having your account unverified.

In a new post on Google+ (via Search Engine Roundtable), Google is telling businesses if they haven't logged into their account in over a year, they'll get an email asking them to do so. If you don't do so, you may be de-verified or even removed from Google Maps.

The company says:

Staying on top of your online presence can mean the difference between business as usual and new customers at your door. In fact, a recent study showed that consumers are nearly twice as likely to find a business reputable if it has more information on Google, such as opening hours and photos. But when companies don’t keep their online information up to date, it can create an unpleasant experience for people searching the web for information -- like if a customer arrives at a local business only to find that the address or operating hours have changed.

We’re always trying to make it easier for customers to connect with businesses on Google. That’s why if you’re a business owner and you haven’t logged into your Google My Business account in over a year, you may receive an email from us soon asking you to sign in and confirm your business information. Just follow the steps in the email by simply logging into your Google My Business dashboard, then checking to make sure your information is up to date and submitting any changes if necessary. If your account remains inactive after receiving a notice from us, then it could run the risk of being de-verified, or in rare cases, removed from Google Maps.

Google recommends logging into your Google My Business account at least once every six months to check on your business info to make sure they have the right info. Again, this could save you from a much bigger headache.

Image via Google

Chris Crum
Chris Crum has been a part of the WebProNews team and the iEntry Network of B2B Publications since 2003. Follow Chris on Twitter, on StumbleUpon, on Pinterest and/or on Google: +Chris Crum.