Go Enable Gmail's 'Undo Send' Feature Right Now

Josh WolfordTechnology

Share this Post

In what could be a lifesaver for many, Google has finally graduated a particularly helpful Gmail feature from Labs to primetime.

Gmail on the web now has a formal "undo send" feature.

So, you accidentally sent a racy email meant for your wife to your boss? Awkward. So, you just hit reply all and are about to let the whole office know how you feel about Jim? Yeah, Jim sucks. But you don't want that email going to everyone.

Or maybe you just made a typo. Either way, Being able to cancel an email's departure is a very, very good thing.

If you want to have the feature available to you, you'll need to go turn it on in your settings:

"'Undo Send' allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts immediately after sending. The feature is turned off by default for those not currently using the Labs version, and can be enabled from the General tab in Gmail settings," says Google.

You can choose a "cancelation period" of 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds.

undo-send

If you've already been using the 'Undo Send' Gmail Labs version, it should keep working as such. Sometimes, it's the small things.

Image via Matt McGee, Flickr Creative Commons

Josh Wolford
Josh Wolford is a writer for WebProNews. He likes beer, Japanese food, and movies that make him feel weird afterward. Mostly beer. Follow him on Twitter: @joshgwolf Instagram: @joshgwolf Google+: Joshua Wolford StumbleUpon: joshgwolf