Gmail Aims to Save Embarrassment Yet Again

    October 13, 2009
    Chris Crum

Google has launched a new feature in Gmail Labs designed to spare users the embarrassment of sending an email to the wrong person. It’s probably happened to you at one time or another.

"’Got the wrong Bob?’ is the latest addition to our set of ’embarrassment-reducing’ Google tools, which help prevent the little mistakes that can cost so much," Google’s Victoria Katsarou tells WebProNews. "If you’ve ever sent an email you wish you could take back, forgot your significant other’s birthday, or sent an inappropriate email to your boss instead of sending to a friend with the same name, you should find these helpful."

Got the Wrong Bob?

Other features she is referring to include:

– Undo Send, which is pretty self-explanatory.

– Mail Goggles, which makes you solve math problems if you try to send an email between 10pm and 4am.

– "New Message" notification, which while on a group email, composing a reply, Google pops up a notification that lets you know if someone else has responded to the thread.

– Cell phone appointment reminders, which again is pretty self-explanatory.

– Off the Record, which is a feature in Gmail Chat that makes sure your messages aren’t saved.

To activate the "Got the Wrong Bob?" feature, you’ll need to go to settings and labs in your Gmail account, and turn it on.