Friendster Deleting User Data on May 31

    April 26, 2011
    Chris Crum

Friendster is doing some spring cleaning at the end of May. The old school social networking site has announced to users that it will be deleting user information (such as photos, blogs, comments, messages, etc.) on May 31.

Friendster is, however, letting users download their information before they obliterate it. They’ve made an app available that lets users export all of that precious Friendster data. On the site’s help center, it says:

The Friendster Exporter is an app that helps you download or export your current Friendster information, including your profile information, your friends list, your photos, messages, comments, testimonials, shoutouts, blogs and groups. To install this app, click here or type the following URL on your browser, then follow the instructions.

If you do not wish to keep all this history or information, then you do not need to do anything. Whether you use the Exporter or not, your Friendster account will not be deleted. Your list of friends will be preserved, along with your basic profile information. Your wallet and games details will also remain unchanged.

It’s clear that Friendster’s chances of winning the social network market share game have been pretty slim for a long time now. The company (acquired in 2009, by MOL Global) seems to be officially conceding to this fact. MySpace did this recently when it got more integrated with Facebook too.

If you go to Friendster now, it’s all about gaming.

Last summer, Facebook paid a reported $40 million to acquire some Friendster patents, which could have helped the company prevent some lawsuits.


Chris Crum
Chris Crum has been a part of the WebProNews team and the iEntry Network of B2B Publications since 2003. Follow Chris on Twitter, on StumbleUpon, on Pinterest and/or on Google: +Chris Crum.