Have you ever been scrolling through your Facebook news feed and read or seen something you didn't want to? Well you aren't the only one, and Facebook has finally responded to the complaints by adding an Unfollow Button. The Unfollow Button will allow Facebook users to hide or remove posts by certain users from their timeline. That means you don't have to keep seeing all those selfies or annoying posts.
Although the Unfollow Button may seem like a new option for Facebook users, it will function the same as the Hide All option that is currently available to users. The convenience of the feature allows users to block the posts of other users without unfriending the person or blocking them. That means the person stays on your friends list and you can still see each others timelines. The person you unfollow will not know they have been unfollowed,
So why would Facebook go to the trouble of renaming a button without changing its features? According to Facebook engineers, this is just one of many steps to make Facebook more modern and appealing to users.
"Our surveys show that on average people prefer links to high quality articles about current events, their favorite sports team or shared interests, to the latest meme," said a pair of Facebook engineers. "Starting soon, we’ll be doing a better job of distinguishing between a high quality article on a website versus a meme photo hosted somewhere other than Facebook when people click on those stories on mobile. This means that high quality articles you or others read may show up a bit more prominently in your News Feed, and meme photos may show up a bit less prominently."
Are you excited about the new Facebook changes?
Image from Wikimedia Commons.