Can You Blook Your Blog?

    January 24, 2006
    WebProNews Staff

It’s not a typo, it’s a book derived from a blog or website; some pretty cool judges will help dish out $4,000 in prize money to the winners of the Lulu Blooker Award.

BoingBoing co-editor Cory Doctorow, OSTG editor-in-chief and Slashdot contributor Rob ‘Roblimo’ Miller, and director Paul Jones will pick the inaugural Lulu Blooker prize. Self-publishing service company is sponsoring the contest, which will showcase a fiction, non-fiction, and comics winner.

The deadline of the contest falls on January 30th, and entrants must send in their entries in print-book form. After a panel of judges narrows down the entries to 3-5 per category, the three celebrity judges will pick winners in each category.

Whichever of the three winners best demonstrates the greatest insight into a topic and has superior visual design qualities will be the overall winner, and pick up $2,000. The other two winners will earn $1,000 each.

The contest debuted on October 10, 2005 and coincided with the 450th anniversary of Gutenberg’s invention of moveable type. Lulu plans to announce the Blooker prize winners on April 3rd.

Drag this to your Bookmarks.

Add to | DiggThis | Yahoo My Web

David Utter is a staff writer for WebProNews covering technology and business.