Beware Of eBay Motors Scam

Get the WebProNews Newsletter:

[ Business]

A new threat against visitors to eBay Motors from a Trojan attempts to use a man in the middle attack that seems to do more than just phish a username and password from people.

The problem right now is researchers at Symantec, which discussed the Trojan.Bayrob attack, aren’t sure what the attackers may be trying to accomplish.

Whatever it is can’t be good for people whose systems pick up this new bit of nastiness. Symantec said in its Security Response Blog that the attempted use of a man in the middle attack in this manner is “very unusual.”

When the Trojan infects a system, it implements a local proxy server that listens on port 80, the default port for http traffic. It alters the local etc/hosts file to force traffic through the proxy if the user tries to visit one of these URLs:


The Trojan then connects to one of several other servers to grab files. These will be used to deliver the fake eBay pages in the browser window. Symantec said the Trojan downloads ten fake pages, but that number could change.

One of those fake pages shows a high feedback rating. Since eBay visitors tend to rely on feedback to determine if they should bid or not on an auction, a deceptive feedback rating could dupe them into bidding and finishing a transaction.

“The exact motive behind the Trojan is still a mystery since at the time of writing the servers are not sending down the %item_number% and %seller_name% variables that may show which auction the user should be redirected to, and without which, the Trojan will not start to show fake pages,” said Symantec.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Beware Of eBay Motors Scam
Top Rated White Papers and Resources
  • Guest

    Anthony Zackery>>>>>> zak111zak22@gmail.com
    Susan Massey >>>>>>> susan11974@msn.com
    Rebecca Prior >>>>>>>rebeccaprior09@gmail.com

    • angie

      Are these people listed here (anthony Zackery, Susan Massey, Rebecca Prior) scamming people through ebay motors? I am about to complete an ebay motors transaction with him that seems to be too good to be true but I figured it was safe because it is through ebay.
      Please advise ASAP

      • Guest

        We wonder the same thing, one of them has a corvette listed real cheap, but wants to use a third party to receive a Money Gram. We think it is bogus, but really don’t know.

  • Guest

    its probably a scam. I found an add on craigslist that was using this fake ebay page. her name was suposedly susane larson..

  • Join for Access to Our Exclusive Web Tools
  • Sidebar Top
  • Sidebar Middle
  • Sign Up For The Free Newsletter
  • Sidebar Bottom